Need help with overclocking computer I just built

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brkkab123, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. brkkab123

    brkkab123 VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Florida
    Hi all, I'm somewhat new to the forum. I was wondering if anyone could help me with overclocking my newly built computer ? My parts are as follows :
    1. NZXT Tempest EVO case
    2. AMD Phenom 2 965 BE 125W TDP cpu
    3. ECS A790GXM-A ver. 1.0 AM2+ motherboard
    4. Zalman CNPS 9900ALED heatsink
    5. Crucial Ballistix PC6400 DDR 2 r.a.m. 4 x 2gb. sticks
    6 .Corsair TX750W p.s.u.
    7. 2 Samsung SH-S223C DVD-RW's
    8. XFX HD5770 1.0 gb. video card
    9. Hauppage WinTV HVR-1850 t.v. tuner
    10 .2 Western Digital Cavair Black 1.0 tb. SATA 3 hard drives ( only one works. 2nd one being RMA'd back to NewEgg)

    I'd rather do the overclocking through the bios, but I don't know which settings to modify. The bios is Amrica Megatrends, Inc. #080015 date 07/14/2009.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    P.S. TorrentG all drivers are updated per Driver Agent.
    I'm also running Zone Alarm free Firewall, Security Essentials, Spybot Search & Destroy, SUPERAntiSpyware free, WinPatrol Plus and ThreatFire for security applications.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 29, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. brkkab123

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    First of all:
    I THINK you have enough security now! LOL!

    Consult your ECS motherboard manual is should give you some there if not, overclocking the CPU is done by changing the CPU's frequency multiplier or frequency or both. I'm not that familiar with AMD overclocking, now if it was an Intel Core 2 Duo, no problemo!

    I am sure others here will give you a hand.
     
    Nibiru2012, Aug 29, 2010
    #2
    brkkab123 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. brkkab123

    Mychael VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Melbourne, victoria
    Mychael, Aug 29, 2010
    #3
    brkkab123 likes this.
  4. brkkab123

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    396
    Overclocking is simple, but time consuming.

    All it is, is really tweaking the heck out the bios to find the highest levels the memory and cpu will work at without bsods. And also what voltages may be needed to sustain the overclocks.

    No need for any of those stress test softwares. This is not a critical machine that NASA is using to keep track of a mission.

    Simple rule: Use the machine as you always have and will. If no bsod, your machine is overclocked well. If even one bsod is caused by the overclock, lower the overclock. Rinse/repeat.

    Make sure you start with a complete stable system to begin with. Learn how to use the jumper on the motherboard to reset the bios to defaults. Any overclocker finding limits will need this.
     
    TorrentG, Aug 29, 2010
    #4
    brkkab123 likes this.
  5. brkkab123

    brkkab123 VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Florida
    TorrentG: Exactly which memory and cpu settings should I tweak ? Should I run AMD Overdrive in Windows first, then apply those settings to the bios? If so, what do I need to disable temporarily in Windows to run Overdrive properly ? Thanks for your help and a quick response.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 29, 2010
    #5
  6. brkkab123

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    396
    No, uninstall AMD Overdrive as it's likely to cause bsod issues all on its own, without even overclocking at all.

    Use the bios settings to do all tweaks. You'd have to check your motherboard manual if you aren't sure what the settings are or what they do.

    You'll want to start with raising the memory frequency, which in turn, will overclock the cpu. As you get higher, it will become more necessary to also raise the VDIMM and VCore voltages.

    You can relax (raise) memory timings slightly if necessary also. It's all trial and error tweaks...like I said, time consuming.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
    TorrentG, Aug 29, 2010
    #6
    brkkab123 likes this.
  7. brkkab123

    brkkab123 VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks TorrentG will do tonight.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 29, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. catilley1092

    SOLVED What is Overclocking

    catilley1092, Dec 8, 2009, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,936
    Veedaz
    Dec 9, 2009
  2. TheNextSwarm

    Having trouble installing Windows 7 on a computer I built

    TheNextSwarm, Aug 13, 2010, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    6,087
    DirtRider
    Aug 16, 2010
  3. brkkab123

    SOLVED Just got Crysis today & need some help

    brkkab123, Nov 8, 2011, in forum: Gaming
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,978
    brkkab123
    Nov 8, 2011
  4. ghforlife

    Need Help with New Built

    ghforlife, Mar 31, 2012, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,733
    Nibiru2012
    Apr 7, 2012
  5. brkkab123
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,460
    brkkab123
    Apr 11, 2012
  6. Derek C
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    700
    TrainableMan
    Dec 8, 2013
  7. Propaneblast
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    1,650
    Shintaro
    Jun 30, 2014
  8. alanwaston
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    541
    john steadman
    Dec 25, 2016
Loading...