My PC does not get IP address from ISP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Shawnmalekzadegan, Mar 8, 2016.

  1. Shawnmalekzadegan

    Shawnmalekzadegan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I just got a new ISP with a new router. When I connect it to my PC, it does not recognize the ISP. When I look for ipconfig, it shows there is no Media State and no IP address. When I switch to previous ISP provider router, the PC connect to internet and works fine. Any suggestion?

    Shawn
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
    Shawnmalekzadegan, Mar 8, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Shawnmalekzadegan

    Edwin009

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello Shawn,

    Ideally when you sign up with a new ISP, they have to configure the connection from their end and only then you get an IP. The fact that you are getting No Media on IPCONFIG states that the connection is not configured yet. In that case you may want to contact your ISP and check.

    If the ISP has given a modem and you got your own router, try connecting directly to modem and check. If it connects through the modem, contact the router provider to get it configured.

    Regards,
    Edwin.
     
    Edwin009, Mar 10, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Shawnmalekzadegan

    Edwin009

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello Shawn,

    Just wanted to check if the issue is resolved.
    Please let me know if you need any additional assistance.

    Regards,
    Edwin S |Tech Support Team
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 23, 2016
    Edwin009, Mar 17, 2016
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. catilley1092

    SOLVED ISP speeds - are we getting what we pay for?

    catilley1092, May 5, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    2,252
    Nibiru2012
    May 5, 2010
  2. billblackhome

    Surely W7 TV is only as good as your ISP?

    billblackhome, Aug 15, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,365
    billblackhome
    Aug 16, 2010
  3. Peter Jason
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,424
    Gordon
    Mar 5, 2011
  4. ErrorMagnet

    My ISP is now showing up in Firefox

    ErrorMagnet, Apr 21, 2011, in forum: Software
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    2,394
    TrainableMan
    Apr 23, 2011
  5. Ganesh Ujwal
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,295
    TrainableMan
    Jan 12, 2015
Loading...