Msconfig & Start Up question


Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
Upgraded from Vista to Win 7 (both 64 bit) and via the Custom Install method.
Went into Msconfig to change the Time out from 30 to 3 ).

On the General tab I noticed that the Selective Button was chosen rather than the Normal Start Up.
Is this right?

(see jpg)

Thanks
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
It will do that anytime you make a change within msconfig. To have better options you might would like EasyBCD. It is freeware and easy to use.

EasyBCD is NeoSmart Technologies' multiple award-winning answer to tweaking the new Windows Vista bootloader. With EasyBCD, almost anything is possible. Setting up and configuring Windows boot entries is simple, and there is no easier way to quickly boot right into Linux, Mac OS X, or BSD straight from the Windows Vista bootloader - on the fly, no expert knowledge needed!
Read more and download from here - EasyBCD 1.7.2
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
So, when next I am in Msconfig - should I check off "Normal Start up" ?
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Yah Check off "Normal start up", You should only use "optimized start up" for tracing down problems.
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
I always have my msconfig on Selective Startup. There are a few processes under the Startup Tab that I don't like to have started when my system is started. (less things starting mean a faster startup, especially for things I rarely use)
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
I always have my msconfig on Selective Startup. There are a few processes under the Startup Tab that I don't like to have started when my system is started. (less things starting mean a faster startup, especially for things I rarely use)
I always remove them from startup options with other utilities. If the programs are removed from starting, windows will still start normally

msconfig only disables them and changes from normal startup.
 
Ad

Advertisements

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
Assuming most users have particular requirements, the "selective" mode should always be used. If you reselect "normal" your startup will revert to the default. If you have been deselecting various items, for faster startup, it will slow it down again.
"Read more and download from here - EasyBCD 1.7.2 "
Now on version 2.0. Still in Beta. I cannot see any differences, although Neowin claim it is now compatible with Windows 7. (Wasn't 1.7.2. ?)
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
If you reselect "normal" your startup will revert to the default. If you have been deselecting various items, for faster startup, it will slow it down again.
There are ways to stop processes from running without changing the status of your startup. The best way is to stop the process from loading without disabling it.

If disabling the process is what you are doing then the process is still listed as a startup item that was not loaded. If you remove the item from the startup list then you can boot normally without the process loading.
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Neowin claim it is now compatible with Windows 7. (Wasn't 1.7.2. ?)
Im using 1.7.2. in Windows 7 Pro ... no probs as yet :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
other than decreasing the Boot time from 30 to 3 and
deselecting Tablet Services (from within the Control Panel- Add/Remove - services on left side, is the reason why Selective Start Up was chosen.

Another reason I ask is that the built in sound card (I have a ASUS P6T mobo) may not be playing nice. I downloaded a audio driver and then I lost sound from the front port headphone port.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top