Most secure Browser, the moving target.

Shintaro

Reaction score
I know some people here are rolling their eye's saying "OMG that old chestnut.".

It seems that each time I see a report it appears to be something different, depending on the date and version of browsers used to test.

http://www.accuvant.com/capability/...ser-security-comparison-quantitative-approach

This report used the following versions:

Google Chrome versions 12 (12.0.724.122) and 13 (13.0.782.218)
Internet Explorer 9 (9.0.8112.16421)
Firefox 5 (5.0.1)
**If you are concerned that Fire Fox is Version 5 when now it is like Version 13, have a look here:
https://wiki.mozilla.org/Releases/Firefox_3.6_MU
https://wiki.mozilla.org/Releases/Old/2011

Anyway, I have heard people say that MS IE is the most targeted browser and I would have to agree. Simple reason: MS owns 85% of the desktop market:
http://marketshare.hitslink.com/operating-system-market-share.aspx?qprid=8
If I was a malware / virus writer I would be targeting the OS (Operating System) that would get me the most results.
EDIT: Meaning that the average Joe or Jane is likely to simply use IE because it is there by default.

I need to do more research in the area of how tightly coupled MS IE is with the OS. I seem to remember that it used to be, then it changed...I think. So now I am not sure. I need to find articles.

So I am an old staunch Firefox user from many, many years ago. But reading the report made me think. Time to change old man. Well at least for a bit of time anyway.
I have found some substitutes for Tree Style Tabs and no-script amongst other things.

To be honest, I'll be maintaining 3 browsers now, Chrome, IE and Firefox. Yea I know it's a lot, but that is my choice.

Anyway, my little bit of research is NOT exhaustive, it is just something that I thought I would pass on.

Last edited:

Digerati

Post Quinquagenarian
Microsoft MVP
Reaction score