SOLVED How do I connect a laptop to my Desktop PC so that both have Internet access?.

Reaction score
I have a desktop PC with Windows 7 Home Premium as the OS connected to the Internet via a cable modem from my Virgin Media ISP. My son would like to be able to acquire internet access to his Windows Vista OS laptop when visiting. Given that although I am not completely PC illiterate I am by no means an expert although probably better than most pensioners. Could someone either explain in a simple manner or point me to a tutorial or such on how I can achieve this and what I would need in the way of cables, extra equipment etc. Thanks in advance for any help offered.

yodap

No longer shovelling
Reaction score
You will need a router and if your son wishes to have internet access untethered, (no cables) then you will need a wireless router. The router would be installed between your cable modem and your PC. A typical router will have the ability to have 4 wired computers connected in addition to wireless capabilities.

If you Google routers or wireless routers you will come up with many suggestions and diagrams. Then it's off to the store you go.

Good luck and post back if you need help with the set up.

Reaction score
Firstly thanks for the reply Yodap, I don't have a router at present but I do have a Mercury KOB SDH8P - 8 port 10/100 Mbps - Fast Ethernet Switch. This was left over from a previous situation when my daughter was living at home and we had two Win XP computers running on the one connection, but one of her PC savvy friends set that up and I don't know how it was put together. Can the above mentioned Switch be used in stead of a router and how would it all couple together?.

yodap

No longer shovelling
Reaction score
I'm not sure if it would work because it's not a router. But it would be very easy to try on your computer.