How can I migrate from a Gateway to an HP correctly?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike Lynch, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. Mike Lynch

    Mike Lynch

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater Florida
    Is there a 'best practice' that will explain migrating from a Gateway PC to an HP PC?

    I have four Gateways that I want to migrate from which are running under Windows-7 Pro.

    I would like to use the same Activation Numbers after migrating to Windows-7 Pro on the HP's.

    The Gateways will be donated to the Salvation Army without an Operating System installed.
     
    Mike Lynch, Jul 31, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mike Lynch

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    1,599
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Legally you cannot transfer the licenses. Gateway PCs come with OEM licenses & they live and die with the motherboard where they are first installed.
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 2, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mike Lynch

    Mike Lynch

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater Florida
    With that being said, how can I migrate my user data from one System to the other successfully?
     
    Mike Lynch, Aug 2, 2018
    #3
  4. Mike Lynch

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    1,599
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The easiest way is to use "Windows Easy Transfer". Simply type that into the search engine & run the program. By default it will try to back up all the normal libraries for all users on the computer. If you have non-standard data locations as well, like C:\DATA\MYSTUFF then you will want to use the advanced settings to add the additional folders.

    I also personally recommend that if you have anything on your desktop or in folders on the desktop that you wish to keep then you are better off to create a folder in your library and copy the information there. Then make sure the desktop is unchecked (it is checked by default) when you generate the migration (.mig) file. The reason for this is because when you expand the migration file on the new computer it will completely overwrite your new desktop with your old desktop and you may loose some shortcut links to things that maybe your HP has installed that you didn't have on your old computer.

    Then you copy the .MIG file created to the new computer by USB or external drive or via web online storage. Then on the new computer run Windows Easy Transfer, this time to expand the data you backed up. Once you have all the data copied you will also want to reinstall any programs you use: Microsoft office, CCleaner, etc.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
    TrainableMan, Aug 3, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.