here-is-the driver for GF FX 5200 series-works with W7 32-bit


Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
2
hi everyone

if anyone has NVIDIA card of the series FX 5200 and doesn't know how to work it on
windows 7 32bit here is the way. (I tried it successfully).

1. install the free driver from the link below:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_96.85_2.html

it is about 33 MB of size.

2. run the install file.

3. after install is finished you'll be asked if you want to restart now, click yes.

4. after the restart adjust the resolution from the option Screen resolution that appears when make a right click on desktop. (if you click Advanced settings on the same window you will notice that the adapter is now NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200).

untill this point the installation is finished but the aero isn't yet at work, do this to make it work:

1. go to control panel and choose: performance and information tools.
2. on the opened window we will see highlight with a text telling of the new device click Refresh when asked or Re-run the assessment from below the window.

the aero and 3d effects will be run and activated automatically.

On NIVIDA's page it says the driver is for windows vista but it works properly with windows 7.

I hope I made it clear and .. that's all I've got!

enjoy your time everbody.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
"the nvidia setup program could not locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware"

i am running windows ultimate 32 bit
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Hi...

I can hack this for you to make it install without issue.

I need you to post 2 things.

1) In the extracted NVIDIA driver folder you have at C:\NVIDIA - somewhere in there is a nv_disp.inf. Please zip that and attach to a post.

2) Open device manager. Right click on standard vga. Choose properties. Details tab. Change the dropdown to hardware ids. Copy/paste that info shown below to a post with the above attachment.

In my reply, you will get a modified .inf to replace over the exisiting one. Then I will also have precise instructions on how to install.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_6300&SUBSYS_0A011019&REV_31
PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_6300&SUBSYS_0A011019
PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_6300&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_6300&CC_0300


is that all you need?
anything more just let me know..

thank you so much man!!:beer:
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
The hardware id that you posted is for the SiS onboard graphics that would be even "weaker" than the NVIDIA card you have.

Here's what to do:

1) Shutdown the machine.

2) Boot to bios.

3) Disable the onboard vga setting and save (usually f10 saves).

4) Power off the machine again.

5) Plug the monitor into the video card instead of the motherboard, like it is now.

6) Reboot to Windows and install the driver for 32 bit in the normal method:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_96.85_2.html
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
if i put the video card in the monitor does not do anything..even it is plugged into the video card

it is like the computer does not recognize it ??

i cannot run the computer from start up with the card plugged in

and it my monitor isn't plugged into my card.. its is plugged into my motherboard
i do have a second monitor that is plugged into my card and it does nothing after i plug the card in(when the computer is already on)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Go in the bios and set the initial display (or similar wording) to be AGP. Then proceed.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Yes. Turn off the pc. Plug in the card. Plug monitor into card. Go to bios and set initial display device to AGP. Save. Reboot to Windows and install the NVIDIA driver.

(DON"T plug in the card with power on the machine going. That would not be good at all!)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
well whenever i plug the card in and then the monitor, the monitor does not do anything... that is the main problem
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Try having a monitor plugged into the motherboard with the card also in.

Then go to bios and set AGP for the initial display. Save.

Turn off pc. Plug monitor into card instead now. Turn on pc and boot to Windows.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
that doesn't work... i have had a monitor plugged in both and nothing, had one plugged in one and nothing.. i did change the displays to AGP but it didn't make a difference the only way i can get my monitor to work is without the card plugged in at all
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
The card itself could be no good.

Anyhow, even though the card would be better than the onboard SiS graphics, it's not going to make a world of a difference in anything you do, performance-wise.

Very much recommend a completely new machine to run Windows 7.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
ok i will just see if i can get a new card or something
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hello TorrentG,

I follow your useful instructions to update the driver of the GeForce FX 5200.

The driver is installed - I can see it in the device manager but it is not running as the numeric signature is not recognised.

Can you help ?

Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
If it is showing in the device manager as installed well, then it is.

I have no idea what you mean about a numeric signature. Can you please explain your issue in greater and better detail?

32 or 64 bit?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
If it is showing in the device manager as installed well, then it is.

I have no idea what you mean about a numeric signature. Can you please explain your issue in greater and better detail?

32 or 64 bit?
Hello,

It is a 32 bit version.

When you are in the device manager - properties of the graphical card - 2nd tab driver - 4th line (I translate from the french) : Numeric signature : non signed numerically

For me it is linked to the nv_disp file. I have 2 files : the one modified (inf) that I copy in the folder and helps me to install the driver - a second one from type catalog security (I opened it and there is a lot of information concerning numerical certication).

Hope it is clearer.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I'd like to share your happiness ;-))

But I get on the genera tab of the properties an error message that Windows stopped the devive (error 43).
When I try to modified the display resolution, the device shown is "default screen" and in the advanced properties the nvidia graphic card is not displayed only generic.

Any idea ?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top