Front port not working

SOLVED Discussion in 'Software' started by Dustin DeTorres, Mar 8, 2017.

  1. Dustin DeTorres

    Dustin DeTorres

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My CPU front port is not working since I bought it. Every port like USB, Sound..Any suggestion on how to fix this?
     
    Dustin DeTorres, Mar 8, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dustin DeTorres

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    630
    Hi Dustin,

    If all of the ports on the front are not working, I would suspect a loose connection within your case. Normally there is a ribbon cable from the front input header to somewhere on the motherboard. Are you comfortable working within your PC?

    If you let me know the make and model of the PC, I'll see if I can find more detailed information.
     
    Ian, Mar 9, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dustin DeTorres

    Dustin DeTorres

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Ian,
    Thank you so much for replying my question.
    Here is the details-
    Win7 ultimate
    Intel core i3-3220 CPU@3.30 GHZ
    RAM-4.0GB
    64 bit
    please let me know if you need more information. Thanks Again
     
    Dustin DeTorres, Mar 23, 2017
    #3
  4. Dustin DeTorres

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    630
    Hi Dustin, do you have the make and model (for example, Dell Optiplex 790) - as that will let me look up the motherboard and internal schematics. :)
     
    Ian, Mar 23, 2017
    #4
  5. Dustin DeTorres

    Dustin DeTorres

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for helping but I had to change everything like Motherboard, Processor, RAM, Power Supply, and Casing. Its a new PC now.
     
    Dustin DeTorres, Apr 22, 2017
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.