Firefox 5.0 Final Release


Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,342
Reaction score
1,586
I'm still on ver 3; I'll wait for you and Cat to figure out all the annoying new bugs.
 

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
It seems I just went to 4.0 a couple weeks ago. I like it but....5.0 already?:confused:
 

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
Thanks for the link Clifford. Downloaded it, making Restore Point, installing it. My pc made it's weekly backup about 5 hours ago. Now I'm goona see if all my addons work with 5.0.
 

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
Did a System Restore. The following addons aren't compatible with Firefox 5 yet: McAfee Site Advisor free/Plus, G Data Cloud Security, IE Tab Plus and KwiClick.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
Quote from http://www.ghacks.net/2011/06/18/grab-firefox-5-final-ahead-of-schedule/

If you want to use addons that haven’t had their version numbers bumping in newer builds including Nightly, Aurora and Beta then you can disable compatility checking with the Add-on Compatibility Reporter addon.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/add-on-compatibility-reporter/

Also, IIRC, when the new automated addon testing tools were run a couple of weeks ago, 90% of addons had there compatibility bumped from 4.0 to 5.0 with no problems and most of the rest required only minor tweaking from their authors.
 
Ad

Advertisements

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
Site Advisor, still doesn't work. The other's now work. Can't remeber the about:config hack to get incompatible addons to work. I'll go through my Firefox documents folder and let you know if that gets it enabled.
 
Last edited:

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
Hi brkkbab123.
Obviously you are a add-on enthusiast, so a likely choice for a nosey question. I am a very satisfied IE user.. I keep any add-ons down to a minimum.
Tell me, with all those add-ons you have applied, does it not negate any speed and functionality that FF might have, if any, over IE or other browsers?
 

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
No not from what I've noticed. The only issue that had anything to do with speed, was a issue Firefox had prior to FF4's release. It had to do with too much ram usage or not releasing the ram, when it was through using it.. Actually I have FF 4.0.1, IE 9 and Opera 11.11 on my pc. Opera appears to be the slow poke loading web pages and I've noticed quite a few that either take minute's to load or don't load everything that's supposed to be on the page. Even with it's Opera Turbo enabled, it's still slower than FF & IE. It appears Opera is in the positiom Microsoft used to be in with IE. BEHIND THE TIMES.
 
Last edited:

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
632
Wow, FF4 only came out a few months ago :dontknow:... I wonder if this is a taste of things to come, with lots more major releases (a la Google Chrome, with v9>v13 in the last 5 months!).
 
Ad

Advertisements

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
I know Mozilla stopped issuing patches for all 3.x.x versions. You may want to atleast install 4.0.1 for security. If they're doing version upgrades like Google is with Chrome. FF 4.0.1 probably won't recieve any updates after a month or two after they release FF 5 to everyone.
 

brkkab123

VIP Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
I found a about:config hack for how to disable Webgl until Mozilla has a fix for the flaw in it. It works in Firefox 4.0.1 and 5.0. type about.config in the address bar. click on you acknoledge the warning. Type Webgl in the filter box. double-click on Webgl.disabled to change it to True and restart Firefox. When the have a patch for the flaw, just go back and set it to False.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
Firefox 4 won't get security updates, just get Firefox 5
Mozilla isn't planning on releasing regular security updates for Firefox 4 (unless there's a really critical hole discovered). Instead, the non-profit organization wants its users to simply move to Firefox 5. This isn't a bad thing, but it is a bit confusing for Firefox users who are used to security-specific updates.

Firefox 4, the browser Mozilla shipped in March 2011, has reached End Of Life (EOL) status for vulnerability patches. Although the move may come as a surprise to Firefox users, Mozilla's developers have been toying with the idea to stop supporting Firefox 4 with security updates for weeks.
I'm going to go out on a limb and mention this is likely to happen with the next browser version in three months.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
189
Reaction score
43
OK Thanks, I needed that source to post on another forum as users their like a source to items posted
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
I bit the bullet and updated to 5 (had to go through 3.whatever, then to FF4 then to FF5)

Amazingly enough the one toolbar I like to use was just updated the same day so all my add-ons and tool bars are working perfectly!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Mychael

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
1,132
Reaction score
101
Well I am still on FF3.6 and it just did an update from 3.6.16 to 3.6.18 so they are still supporting to some degree.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top