Dual display, major problems

Reaction score
I am a rank amateur first of all. I just installed windows 7 on my laptop which is a dual core, 2gb memory compaq. It works flawlessly and I love it.

Well, I am nearing an upgrade to my pc, which is just a bit outdated. It's specs are as follows:

Pentium 4: 2.19 ghz

1.5 gb memory

I have two flatpanel monitors; one is a 22 inch acer and the other is a 19 inch hp.

I have a cheap custom video card, an nvidia geforce mx4000 and I'm not sure what the video driver on my motherboard is.

I have been running XP on this pc and I have had a dual monitor display for a long time. After I installed Windows 7, only one of my monitors is being detected. It is the one connected to my nvidia card.

I did a little research and found that pressing win + p should give me the option to connect a second monitor, but that did not work. In fact, I am only allowed a very conservative display resolution of 1280 x 1024.

In device manager there is a video controller that has no driver installed, and I have been unable to install a driver using windows 7 options.

I've included a couple of screenshots of my system which hopefully will allow you technical geniuses to help me out.

Also, my laptop will display two monitors just fine. I can connect the monitor that is not being detected on my pc and all the relevant options become available.

Help! Thanks!

Reaction score
Hey ya, i think it is due to the fact that the graphics card doesnt support a dual monitor, however i will have to look into this graphics card.

Reaction score
Yeah, that may be it, but I did run dual monitors on XP.

When I did the compatibility check for windows 7, it did not mention a problem with dual monitors. However, I recall doing a compatibility check for Vista a while back, and it said I would perhaps need to install an XP driver to display dual monitors.

Does that help in any way?

Reaction score