SOLVED Driver for Canoscan 8000F


Status
Not open for further replies.
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Why not just download the Vista 64 bit driver? A lot of people are using the Vista 64 bit drivers in Windows 7 with no issues. Especially with printers and scanners.

I know that Epson's printer driver for Vista 64 bit worked perfectly on my system. Then they updated it to Windows 7, the peculiar thing is that the version number of the driver never changed. They just stated that is was good for Windows 7 too.
 

Ned

Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
6
Why not just download the Vista 64 bit driver? A lot of people are using the Vista 64 bit drivers in Windows 7 with no issues. Especially with printers and scanners.

I know that Epson's printer driver for Vista 64 bit worked perfectly on my system. Then they updated it to Windows 7, the peculiar thing is that the version number of the driver never changed. They just stated that is was good for Windows 7 too.
There simply isn't a 64 bit Vista driver for this particular scanner.
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Well, sorry to burst your bubble then. This scanner model is over 7 years old!

It looks like Canon does not want to do any 64 bit drivers for it, not even for XP.

Perhaps it is time to purchase a new scanner?
 

Ned

Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
6
Well, sorry to burst your bubble then. This scanner model is over 7 years old!

It looks like Canon does not want to do any 64 bit drivers for it, not even for XP.

Perhaps it is time to purchase a new scanner?
Never mind! I've got the ol' scanner working .... Virtual PC w/XP, perfect for me.
 
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
That's exactly what I've been trying to tell everyone. No need to replace hundreds or thousands of dollars of perfectly fine hardware over software or OS problems. That is the whole purpose behind virtualization. It's not "for geeks", many businesses as well as end users depends upon this technology. Glad you got running, Ned.
 
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Canoscan 8000F win7 64bit driver

Canon have just confirmed this week (10 May 2010 ) that there is no 64bit driver for this device and have no date for future availablity. Does anyone have a work around for this appalling situation???
norpad
 

Ned

Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
6
Canon have just confirmed this week (10 May 2010 ) that there is no 64bit driver for this device and have no date for future availablity. Does anyone have a work around for this appalling situation???
norpad
I've got the ol' scanner working .... Virtual PC w/XP, this works perfect for me.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
norpad, welcome to the forum! Ned is right, Windows Virtual PC w/XP Mode is your solution, if you have Windows 7 Pro or above. If you're running Home Premium, then there's another program, VMLite, which uses the same version of XP Pro SP3 that XP Mode uses. Go to the forum interface (that long black bar w/all the options), click Search, make sure that "threads" are entered, type "vm lite" w/o the quotes, go down to the 12th or so thread. It is "XP Mode in Windows 7 w/o hardware virtualization". Read the first post, and follow the directions carefully. Make sure that you install an AV inside of the program, after updating. Should you need further assistance, feel free to post.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I hate companies like Canon who implement these ridiculous policies

7 years old it may be but my one works just as well as the day i bought it.

From a purely cynical point of view this appears to be Canon's way of saying "Look people, throw away that old scanner and buy a nice shiny expensive new one from us and we'll give you all the drivers you could ever ask for ... until we stop supporting it in about 5 years or so, that way we'll keep on making lots of money"

But why would i want to throw away a fully working scanner just because it's a bit old? Has it stopped doing all the things it did when it first came out of the box? Has it broken? Is it slower than it used to be? Is it an awful lot inferior to a new one?

Personally the answer to all those questions is no. To throw it away would just be a complete waste of a good scanner.

How many people would be going on about how old it is if Canon did supply 64 bit drivers?

Canon are just being lazy and tightfisted, I doubt it would take an experienced programmer very long to write a few lines of code, if only Canon didn't threaten to sue them for even thinking about publishing it.

Alas, Canon are not alone, there's no shortage of companies who just stop caring about those who take care of their products and still have them many years later.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I installed VMlite XP Mode on my PC and was able to install the driver, the scanner was recognized, and everything seemed to work. But whenever I open ScanGear and start to scan, the program will shut down during the process telling me it is not able to find the twain source.
Has anyone an idea what might be the problem? Or is there anyone who got the Canosacn working in Windows 7 64-Bit?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
This worked for a ten year old Visioneer 4400 scanner on an AMD 64 bit Win 7 Pro system and may work for your Canon. You obviously need to change 'onetouch' and AMD if you have a different setup but the principle should be the same


Make the 32-bit driver into a 64-bit driver:

1. Right click on file and select properties to Install the Windows 2000/XP drivers in XP SP3 Compatibilty Mode. Tick run as administrator. Do not connect the scanner (just click OK when it prompts you to connect the scanner).

2. Open C:\windows\inf\i386\onetouch.inf (this should be where the driver installer put the files) in a text editor.

3. In the [Manufacturer] section, add "NTamd64" to the next line:

[Manufacturer]
%Mfg%=Models, NTamd64

4. Just below the [Manufacturer] section there should be a [Models] section. Copy and paste it before or after the existing [Models] section.

5. Change one of the two [Models] sections to [Models.NTamd64]:

[Models.NTamd64]
%OneTouch7XXX% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_04A7&PID_0229

6. The driver file should look something like this:

START OF FILE EXCLUDED
**********************

[ControlFlags]
ExcludeFromSelect=*

[Manufacturer]
%Mfg%=Models, NTamd64

[Models.NTamd64]
%OneTouch7XXX% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_04A7&PID_0229

[Models]
%OneTouch7XXX% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_04A7&PID_0229

[Viz.OTPro]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection

*******************

END OF FILE EXCLUDED

7. Save the modified onetouch.inf file (overwrite the old one - you can always reinstall the drivers and try again if it doesn't work).

8. Plug in the scanner. Windows 7 may say that it could not install the drivers (If it does install them, great! You should be done then.).

9. Find the "USB Scanner" in Device Manager. Right click on it and select "Update Driver Software...". Select "Browse my computer for driver software", then "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer", then "Have Disk", then "Browse" to find the modified onetouch.inf file.

10. Follow the prompts after that (say yes to install anyway if Windows says the drivers are not certified). The scanner should be installed just like it used to work on XP (32-bit) using Twain drivers.

I have been able to scan in Photoshop via Twain (Visioneer Scan Manager Pro) and have not had any problems. I have a copy of my modified file if anyone would like to see the final version.

Hope this points you in the right direction.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
So I write: [Models.NTintel64] if I´m using an Intel system??

This sounds a bit tricky but I´ll try it....
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Here's a copy of the contents of my modified file just to show you how it looks on an AMD system. I would think that you are along the right lines with [Models.NTintel64] it seems logical to me too. It's not too tricky but Win 7 may not allow you to replace the file so you may have to turn off UAC to accomplish this. Hope it works for you.



[Version]
Signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=Image
ClassGUID={6bdd1fc6-810f-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}
LayoutFile=Layout.inf, Layout1.inf, Layout2.inf
Provider=%Msft%
DriverVer=08/28/2001,3.0.0.0
CatalogFile=vis4400.cat

[ControlFlags]
ExcludeFromSelect=*

[SourceDisksNames]
159="Visioneer PnP Drivers",,,

[SourceDisksFiles]
pmicro.dll=159,,
viceo.dll=159,,
gl.dll=159,,
e1.ini=159,,
lut.plg=159,,



[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=11 ; LDID_SYS that is, \windows\system
CopyFiles.Sys32.NTX86=12 ; system32\drivers
CopyFiles.Sys32.WIN=11
CopyFiles.Wia.Win=10,twain_32\vizscan\42 Bit Scanner

[ControlFlags]
ExcludeFromSelect=*

[Manufacturer]
%Mfg%=Models, NTamd64

[Models]
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0346
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U2% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0347
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U3% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0363
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0346
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0347
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0363


[Models.NTamd64]
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0346
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U2% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0347
;%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U3% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0363
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0346
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0347
%G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1% = Viz.OTPro, USB\VID_0461&PID_0363




[Viz.OTPro]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection
SubClass=StillImage
DeviceType=1
DeviceSubType=0x1
;Capabilities=1
Capabilities=0x00000033
;Events=Viz.OneTouch.Events
DeviceData=Viz.OTProDeviceData
AddReg=Viz.OTProAddReg.NTX86
CopyFiles=CopyFilesPro.Sys32.NTX86
ICMProfiles="sRGB Color Space Profile.icm"

[Viz.OneTouch.Events]
;ButtonDown="%String7%",{3AF297A5-5599-11D2-B17D-0040052FC4F9},*

[Viz.OTProDeviceData]
TwainDS="Visioneer Scan Manager Pro"
Server=local
MicroDriver="pmicro.dll"
UI DLL=sti.dll
UI Class ID={4DB1AD10-3391-11D2-9A33-00C04FA36145}
SpecialInfo="Visioneer Scanner for USB Interface"
PollTimeout=700,1
Resolutions="75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 600"

[Viz.OTPro.Services]
;AddService = pmxscan, 0x00000002, PmxScan.AddService
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection.Services


[Viz.OTProAddReg.NTX86]
HKR,,DeviceType,1,1
HKR,,HardwareConfig,1,4
HKR,,DevLoader,,*NTKERN
HKR,,NTMPDriver,,"usbscan.sys"
HKR,,USDClass,,"{BB6CF8E2-1511-40bd-91BA-80D43C53064E}"
HKCR,CLSID\{BB6CF8E2-1511-40bd-91BA-80D43C53064E},,,"Visioneer USD"
HKCR,CLSID\{BB6CF8E2-1511-40bd-91BA-80D43C53064E}\InProcServer32,,,%11%\wiafbdrv.dll
HKCR,CLSID\{BB6CF8E2-1511-40bd-91BA-80D43C53064E}\InProcServer32,ThreadingModel,,"Both"
;HKR,,USDClass,0,{45CF3205-1885-11D3-9540-0040052FC4F9}
;HKCR,CLSID\{45CF3205-1885-11D3-9540-0040052FC4F9},,0,OneTouch USD Interface
;HKCR,CLSID\{45CF3205-1885-11D3-9540-0040052FC4F9}\InProcServer32,,0,%11%\onetUSD.dll
;HKCR,CLSID\{45CF3205-1885-11D3-9540-0040052FC4F9}\InProcServer32,ThreadingModel,0,Both

[Viz.OneTouchCopyFiles]
;onetUSD.dll

[CopyFilesPro.Sys32.NTX86]
wiafbdrv.dll
pmicro.dll
viceo.dll
gl.dll
e1.ini
lut.plg


[CopyFiles.Wia.Win]
viceo.dll
rtscan.dll
pr42 Bit Scanner.ini

[StrobePr.CopyFiles.Sys32.Win]
vizscan.sys

[Strings]
Msft="Visioneer"
Mfg="Visioneer Hardware"
G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U1 = "42 Bit USB Scanner"
G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U2 = "42 Bit USB Scanner"
G6.CCD.600.E5.2400U3 = "42 Bit USB Scanner"
String7="Button Press"
pmxscan.SvcDesc= "Visioneer USB Kernel"
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thank you for your help. I did want to try it out, but I have problems with VM Lite right now. Since the scanner didn´t work properly, I uninstalled VM Lite, when I read your hint, I reinstalled the machine, but it wouldn´t start. I googled this and somebody recommended to uninstall the program and to erase the Windows Virtual PC folder here: C:\users\name\AppData\Local\Microsoft, which I did. Then I installed it again, but something didn´t work properly, I wasn´t even asked to "specify the path of the xp mode package" during installation and no shortcuts for the program where created.
What´s going wrong here? I searched for "vm" on my computer and got this list




By the way I read a lot of "amd64" is this normal on a intel-based system?

I´m not really familiar with the deeper layers of my PC and Windows, but I hope you´re still willing to help!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Maybe good news

Searched the canon Website today and found what seems to be a driver for the canoscan 8000f for Windows 7!! Yay!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
You can try this link:

http://www.canon.co.uk/Support/Cons...ries/CanoScan_8000F.aspx?type=download&page=1

I haven't tried it yet, but maybe, just maybe!!

Will try this tonight and update asap.
I realize you are trying to help, but it would be more helpful if you would read the other posts before you post. As many people have already said, CANON DOES NOT HAVE DRIVERS FOR THE 8000F SCANNER THAT ARE COMPATIBLE WITH WINDOWS 64-BIT, AND THEY ARE NEVER GOING TO MAKE ANY.

I tried installing VMLite and running WindowsXP virtually, but I ran into the same problem as another person who posted. It installed all of the software and the drivers, but I am still getting the same twain error that I got before and I can't access that scanner. I have to wonder if the person who posted that it worked for them actually has a Canoscan 8000F and Windows 7 64-bit. I may try modifying my files as the one person suggested, but I am a little bit wary of messing with files like that since I would have no idea how to fix it if something goes wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top