SOLVED Does an Intel CPU require C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64*


Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hi,

I have an SSD system drive (128GB) and I'm watching my disk space use on it.
I've noticed I have a lot of C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64* type files on my Win7 64-bit system.
Are they necessary for me if I have an Intel CPU?

:confused:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
AMD developed the 64-bit code for Windows, so therefore all installs of Windows in 64-bit will have AMD cabs and dlls.

They worked in conjunction with Microsoft back several years ago to help develop the 64-bit OS.

Don't worry about those folders, you're fine.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Actually Thrax is more correct than I am, I forgot about that licensing deal between Intel and AMD regarding the 64-bit designs.

AMD was the first one to the starting gate for 64-bit CPUs back in the early 2000s.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top