DO NOT run any registry cleaner!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Very Important

Do not run any type of registry cleaner. like CCleaner as mentioned above. I've been hacking the registry since 1995 and was employed by PC Tools and one of the products I gave technical support on was Registry Mechanic.

I can tell you that the registry stucture has changed dramatically with Windows7 and these registry cleaners don't understand the structure.

I recommend no one use any type of cleaner/optimizer/registry defragger untill these companies provide support for Windows7

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
RegistryBooster by Uniblue Software is Windows 7 compatible both x86 & x64.

It's Microsoft Gold Certified also.

Reaction score
I have used CC Cleaner a couple of times now, and don't seem to have any issues.
I've used CCleaner for several years and have had NO problems with my registry. I love the program. :D
I've not had any issues with CCleaner either.

Thanks for the warning though, I will keep my eye open to potential problems and remember this warning.

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score
I've been using CCleaner for over two years, and have had no problems. When using the registry cleaner function (or any registry cleaner), create a restore point first, then open the cleaner, check for problems, if any, back up the problems prior to deleting. Never delete the problems without backing up (it's described as "saving changes" in CCleaner). And keep the program updated, at least once a month it updates. Fortunately, I haven't had to use this function since I've been using Windows 7, but I use the other cleaning functions on a daily basis. It's one of the best free apps around.

Reaction score