Currently Running Vista Ultimate 64-bit


Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I am considering switching to Windows 7. The question is, would upgrading to Windows 7 32-bit cause problems? Should I just continue on with a 64-bit system?

One annoying problem I have been having is periodically, my keyboard response becomes very slow. I wonder if this is a Vista "feature"?

Thanks in advance!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Well, for one thing I don't think it's possible to upgrade from Vista 64bit to Windows 7 32bit.
I would do a clean install if you want to use Windows 7 32bit. However I would highly recommend that you go to Windows 7 64bit. It will run faster, especially if you have 4GB of RAM or more. Also do a clean install of the x64 OS rather than an upgrade.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Clean Install?

When doing a clean install, I assume I should move my data files to a different disk drive?

I also assume that I will have to reinstall all of my software from scratch after the clean install?

Sounds like a pain!
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
It is a bit of a pain. But when you do a clean install you know you will not be keeping any of the Vista glitches or making new ones through the upgrade.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
When doing a clean install, I assume I should move my data files to a different disk drive?

I also assume that I will have to reinstall all of my software from scratch after the clean install?

Sounds like a pain!
Yes, it is a pain. The benefits you'll receive with a clean install versus just doing an upgrade is significant and you'll notice a difference. Relax, kick back and get into it. Put on some jazz music and it'll go quickly.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top