Can't boot Windows 7 from DVD/CD


Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I have an IBM Lenovo Thinkpad T61. I have changed the BIOS boot order with the ATAPI DVD first. I hear the DVD spin up but I never get the black screen with the question to boot from the CD. The computer then boots up to Vista. I have Windows 7 commercial bought 3 computer use. I am using the 32 bit CD. I have changed the boot order numerous times and no different. I saw a post that referenced a Maid drive
or something like that and not sure if that may be the problem. Thanks for the help and email here or (e-mail address removed).

Stuart
 
Ad

Advertisements

Veedaz

~
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi swestm3 and welcome to Windows 7 Forums

Have you tried your Windows 7 DVD in another Computer to see if it will boot from the disk ? (testing the DVD)
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
Have you tried to just press Enter key on boot (maybe push several times) as you may be just missing the Press Enter key to boot from CD message.
 
Last edited:

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Download a copy of Partition Wizard. It's free and you can get it as a bootable CD ISO image. Burn the image to a CD and the reboot the computer. Wipe the hard drive clean and repartition it.

Then restart the computer and put you install DVD in, it should start to install then.
 

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
The post reference was to RAID not maid. In your case, the computer could be confogured for either. But, in relation to your problem, the type of Hard disk configuration has nothing to do with the problem. You have either a bad DVD drive, or a bad DVD. Try Veedaz suggestion first, using another computer. If the DVD fails, get a replacement.
Anything can happen with computers, but I don't feel that Nibiru's suggestion would help, as you are not getting that far - but who knows?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Just had the same issue with a friends work laptop.... the tech support people had set the boot order as DVD then hard drive, but disable DVD boot in another menu!

Check that your DVD is actually bootable in BIOS.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
35
Reaction score
5
If you still have XP or Vista (or any other MS OS) on your computer install Win 7 from that installation. It will still ask you all the options that you want including formatting the hard drive.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
THIS WORKS - Boot from a CD

I had the same problem and none of the suggested answers worked. Here's a solution that worked for me:

1: Change the bios to boot from CD as the first option, as noted in other posts here.

2: Shut down

3: Open the computer, removed your hard drive

4: Restart with the boot CD/DVD in your drive

5: As soon as you notice the CD/DVD is being used to boot windows, plug your hard drive back in

6: Use the tools presented on the screen to re-install Windows
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,353
Reaction score
1,587
[SIZE=+1]WARNING:[/SIZE]

eldorado's method is extremely dangerous and should be totally unnecessary. You should easily be able to set your DVD as the first boot device. If you did that and it doesn't boot from the DVD then it is more likely you don't have a bootable DVD in the drive, in which case it goes to the next device in the list.

Messing with connections inside your computer while it is operating creates a huge possibility for a static charge or crossed wire to short out your motherboard or other hardware and potentially ruin your machine or cause the need for pricey repairs.


...This thread is over 3 years old and is now locked.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top