alternative to peerblock?

Discussion in 'Security' started by jstsm1, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there any alternatives to peerblock? I can't get it to work, and am very interested in having the ability to have blocklist's running on my laptop when traveling (not behind my own router).
     
    jstsm1, Sep 11, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jstsm1

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Mate,

    Most firewalls will do what that software is claiming, if not a firewall and other software combination. You can even do it without a heavy handed firewall if you are more of an advanced user.

    Have a look at the different firewalls. Article HERE. The problem being, it is going to cost you money.
    But then again you will get support from that company.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Shintaro, Sep 11, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have commodo, but I am also looking to make use of a few different blocklist's from some reputable companies.

    My routers can do it, but I would like to remain protected when traveling.

    *This has nothing to do with filesharing, I don't do the whole p2p thing.*
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
    jstsm1, Sep 12, 2014
    #3
  4. jstsm1

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,144
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    PA, USA
    What errors do you get installing Peerblock? I have used it for years without issue. Are you running 32 or 64-bit W7?
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 13, 2014
    #4
  5. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running 64bit.

    I just re-installed, an error popped up, shut down, restarted, ran peerblock, an error popped up, then peerblock closed itself.

    Here are screen shots of the errors.
     

    Attached Files:

    jstsm1, Sep 13, 2014
    #5
  6. jstsm1

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,144
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Try disabling your anti-virus software and see if you still get the error. What A/V software do you use?

    If that works then try re-enabling your A/V and add the Peerblock folder (if you can do folders) otherwise add Peerbock.exe to your anti-virus's exceptions.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
    TrainableMan, Sep 13, 2014
    #6
  7. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do, I use Bitdefender.
     
    jstsm1, Sep 13, 2014
    #7
  8. jstsm1

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,144
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Bitdefender exclusions
    Add Exclusions for the folder, the exe, and I doubt it is the current issue but in order to get updates make sure it is authorized through the firewall.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 13, 2014
    #8
    jstsm1 likes this.
  9. jstsm1

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,144
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If that does fix it then you may also need to be running Peerblock with Administrator privileges.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 13, 2014
    #9
  10. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    DOH! I don't know why I didn't think of that. It seems to have fixed it, peerblock at least runs now. It still flashes an error when downloading/updating the lists. I'll try running it as an administrator.
     
    jstsm1, Sep 13, 2014
    #10
  11. jstsm1

    jstsm1

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No more errors, thank you verry much!

    Edit: I take back no more errors.I get one on shutting down, however the program seems to be working.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
    jstsm1, Sep 13, 2014
    #11
  12. jstsm1

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,144
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You're welcome.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 13, 2014
    #12
  13. jstsm1

    Reikon

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    just saw this thread and I use ipfilterX and it's absolutely great |!|,
    read about it.


    ;-)
     
    Reikon, Feb 29, 2016
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.