Ad-Aware Free


Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
111
Reaction score
13
I haven't tried the newer free version, but up until a year ago I was using a the paid version.Their is no real reason why I don't now, I just decided to try something else for once. What I use now is okay, but Lava Soft has always made good software. I would recommend it to a friend at least.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
I use Ad Aware on a total of five OS', this PC, and each OS on both of my laptops (Win 2K Pro & XP Pro) and have never had trouble. It is my backup to Avast on three OS's ( Win 2K Pro x2 & Windows 7), and MSE on two OS's (XP Pro). I use the free versions, they do an excellent job and do actually pick up things like tracking cookies. I would highly recommend Ad Aware Free to a friend or anyone else looking for a BACKUP to their anti virus of choice. Like mattweed9 said, Lavasoft makes good software. Just be sure to update the free version weekly, I scan almost daily with this product.
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Lavasoft do make good software, i always liked Ad-Aware SE and used it for years, as the wife is having a new Computer for Christmas i will see if she would like to try Ad-Aware Free :)
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
It's very easy to use and is effective, as long as you use it with a decent anti virus program. It will remind you to update as needed and offers real time protection.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,058
Reaction score
1,184
It will remind you to update as needed and offers real time protection.
I used Lavasoft Ad-Aware SE many times. If I wasn't given a license for a-Squared AntiMalware, I would still be using Ad-Aware.

However I wasn't aware that they offered realtime protection with the free version. Personally I don't want realtime protection anyway. The active scanners annoy me to much.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
I have it installed with realtime protection turned on, and there is no noticeable difference to me. I've had other scanners to do this (such as Prevx), but not Ad Aware. Just an occasional nag screen in the right corner asking you to upgrade.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top