SOLVED a friends computer.


Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
199
Reaction score
10
my friend has an compaq presario sr5250nx, has a intel gma 950 graphics chipset, it also has pci slot that supports PCI-E x16 card, he bought a radeon HD 5450 card that is PCI-E x16 type, but in device manager it doesnt show in devices. nor does win7 detect it being installed. can he disable the on-board chipset and reboot so windows might possibly install graphic card. or is there something were over looking.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
199
Reaction score
10
no, usually when new hardware detected, message comes up saying found new hardware and starts downloading driver through windows update. but for some reason its not detecting new hardware.
 

bassfisher6522

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
748
Reaction score
126
It's generally recommended to download and install the drivers for hardware manually or with the install DVD that came with the hardware. Letting windows pick up the driver and install it, using this method, windows only installs the windows basic driver, that's just to get the device working if at all.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
While the system BIOS is usually configured to auto detect the presence of PCIe graphics cards, this is not always the case. If you install a PCIe graphics card and you still get a picture from the onboard graphics, you should check the system BIOS for graphics detection options.

The onboard graphics capabilities should be disabled if the BIOS detects dedicated graphics. This eliminates extra power usage from the onboard graphics, minimizes chipset heat dissipation, and discontinues the use of shared memory.
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
1,586
Did he move his monitor connection from the motherboard video to a slot on the back of the HD5450 board?

Is the video card properly seated in the slot and the clip locked into place?

Is his power supply adequate for the requirements of the card (400W+) ?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Digerati

Post Quinquagenarian
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
277
it also has pci slot that supports PCI-E x16 card
Ummm, no it doesn't! Just to be sure we are all on the same page, it is important to note that PCI is a totally different interface than PCIe (PCI Express). PCI and PCIe are NOT compatible. The slots are different, the protocols are different, and the voltages on the pins are different.

This is important to keep sorted out, especially when the 5450 comes in PCI, and PCIe versions too.
Is his power supply adequate for the requirements of the card (400W+) ?
Not just power, but connections too. While the basic 5450 cards I have seen don't require a supplemental power connection, not all card makers configure their cards the same. So check the manual (download from maker's site).
 

Digerati

Post Quinquagenarian
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
277
Be careful. Unfortunately, many Compaqs came with "low-profile" PSUs to fit (like a tight shoe) inside "slim" cases. So make sure you yours is either standard ATX Form Factor, or if not, you get the right one.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
199
Reaction score
10
installed new 500 watt psu along with ccc 12.8 and hydravision, working now.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Digerati

Post Quinquagenarian
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
277
Great. Thanks for the followup.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top