SOLVED Would Office 2003 run with Windows 7?


Kalario

Aquarius
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
590
Reaction score
68
I do not want to buy/upgrade another Office. I like office 2003 and would like to keep it. Does anyone knows if office 2003 will run with Win 7?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Yes, Office 2003 will run just fine in Windows 7. It doesn't matter whether the Windows 7 install is x86 or x64, it will run just great!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
yes but how do you install this program-i have tried several things and it is not working with windows 7
 

Kalario

Aquarius
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
590
Reaction score
68
I inserted the disk and istalled it with no issues.

What was your problem? Did you get an error while installing? Can you give us more information so we can help you?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
i am now receiving a message fatal error when trying to run the program
 
Ad

Advertisements

Fire cat

Established Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
191
Um... Have you tried running as admin and in compatibility mode? That might do it.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Apologies for this thread necromancy as we call it on another forum I am a Moderator on. (Out of deference to the Mods here I will not advertise it)

The reason for dragging this thread up is this.

Currently I am not on Windows 7 for anything. My desktop is Vista Home Premium, my current laptop is Vista Home Basic.

My laptop is now coming to the end of it's useful life and I am looking at having to replace it.

New models now have Windows 7

Today I was told that I can not install any Office 2003 products on a machine with Windows 7.

I have a copy of Office 2007 as well as Office 2003, so for most functions I am told Office 2007 will work. However Front Page was discontinued after Office 2003 and I do still use it for my web work.

Also the version of Office 2007 I got from PC World in 2009 did not have Access on, which I only found out after the fact.:mad:

Luckily my Office 2003 disc has Access, and I installed that

Those are the only two modules from Office 2003 I would want, the rest will come from Office 2007

Is it now the case that I can not have Front Page or Access any more when I procure a new laptop with Windows 7, because Office 2003 is incompatible with Windows 7.
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,331
Reaction score
1,584
As Nibs mentioned above, 2003 will work in W7. Though if you look over this thread and this thread on FrontPage 2003 some people seem to have issues and you may need to set compatibility settings.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
How difficult will that be?

If and When I get to do this, it will be an install from an Office 2003 disc
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,331
Reaction score
1,584
Setting compatibility is pretty easy.

  • Open Windows Explorer.
  • Right-click on the exe and chose properties.
  • Select Compatibility Tab
  • Check Use Compatibility Mode
  • select Windows XP SP3

compatibility.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
You could try a download of MS office 2007. I am not sure that is illegal. Presumably you have a key, which is the legal part. There are numerous sites where this can be done quite openly. For example:

http://www.freedownloadsplace.com/Microsoft-Office-Download-16200.htm

I still have FP 2003 on my windows 7 installation. I believe it was always a standalone program, and came on a separate CD (No.2) if you purchased the full package. It works 100%, but I no longer use it. It is discontinued, as you probably know, and was replaced by Expression, and then Sharepoint Designer, which I now use..
Quite honestly, (imo), FP is so old, I think you might get better satisfaction from one of the free web programs out there.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top