Why does System Restore points disappear?

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score
I've been using Windows 7 since Nov 2009, and it's been a very positive experience for me, ease of use, many built in features, easy to upgrade from one version to the other, lots of goodies to list.

But one thing that I've never figured out is why System Restore points vanish, although I always reserve at least 25% of my OS partition for this exclusive purpose. I do the same on my Data partition. I also from time to time create custom restore points, not just relying on an app installer or Windows to do this for me.

The reason that I ask this, is that on two separate computers, I needed a restore point, and it wasn't there. But I was able to roll back a previously installed video driver in order to correct a bad driver update (NVIDIA's last release) on my notebook. On my desktop, the install of SP1 wiped out my restore points.

I don't totally rely on System Restore, as I create full backups every other week, and have saved the original, plus at least two recent, to fall back on. But I'd like to know where these points are going. With 52.70GB (35%) currently reserved for that sole purpose, I wonder why I can only go back to the last week of March to choose from a suitable point from.

Where are they going?

Cat

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
How big is your OS partition? In other words, instead of 25% how many GBs are being reserved (each one takes roughly 2GB)?

Also if W7 thinks the partition is filing up I believe it may recover the space. I believe SP1 and I suppose it's possible some other Win Updates wiped out restore points. Plus disk cleaners could potential wipe them out to recover space.

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Aren't you dual booting XP or other windows 7 editions, Cat?

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score