Virtual Machine

Reaction score
I'm new to Windows 7 (64 bit). Is Virtual Machine part of the Windows 7 operating system?

Thanks, Janine

Reaction score
Virutal Machine

Thanks for the info. Clifford. So Virtual Machine is not actually part of the Windows 7 (64 bit) Operating System?

Janine

Fire cat

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi JanineS!
It kinda is part of Windows, but you have to install it. Wich version of windows do you have?
As clifford_cooley said, it is only available in versions of Windows 7 from Professional to Ultimate, that is, to run XP mode. If you have one of those, you can download from the official Virtual PC page:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/
Though, you can still run Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 on any windows machine, by downloading and running the installer from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...02-3199-48A3-AFA2-2DC0B40A73B6&displaylang=en

It's OK, you'll notice it's from the Microsoft Download section, so it isn't any kind of crack, or illegal downloading.

Just go to the bottom of the page and download the 64bit installer.
That will install Virtual PC 2007, but NOT XP mode, as that is only available in the versions Pro to Ultimate.

Fire Cat

Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks fire cat

I realize now I misquoted abit.

It is XP Mode not Virtual PC that doesn't work with Home Premium. I think I was relating them together when I made my first post. :)

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score