Searched, Read, Still Confused - 64 to 32 bit


Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Seems like a great forum you all have here. . . .

As the subject says, I did use the forum search function and read other threads relating to going from W7____32 to W7_____64. I still have some questions.

I need to take a new W7Home64 to W7Pro32. I think I've done a clean install, but I think I lost all my drivers.

Prior to starting I did a System Image of the new-out-of-box W7Home64 machine. (consumed three 4.7G DVDs). I also did a system repair disc.

I then booted from the new W7Pro32 disc and deleted all the partitions I could (it would not let me delete one partition with about 1.5M in it - something about it being from the OEM).

I then created a new partition using the default size it gave me. From there I did the install. Now, as mentioned, it seems like I've lost all my drivers.

I'm in over my head here and could use some help.

-Jim
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Hi jhausch - Welcome to w7forums

Visit your manufacturers website and download all the 32-Bit drivers from their pages. The 64-Bit drivers that you previously had will not work with 32-Bit OS.

I hate seeing you downgrade to 32-Bit, is there a particular reason why you need to do so?

I noticed you are upgrading to Windows Professional. If you are thinking of using XP Mode, you should also know that XP Mode is Windows XP SP3 32-Bit client regardless of which version Windows you are running.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Hello Mr. Cooley,

My IT dept has some thin client SW and a phone SW that does not seem to run in 64 bit (pro or home). I also have some SW used for programming automation hardware which does not seem to work with 64bit.

I went to the toshiba website to do as you suggested; however, the first driver I see is shows that it is for the Windows 7 (64bit) OS. SHould I download it anyway?

OK, Sorry - re-read your post.

I need to find the 32 bit drivers. . . .
 
Last edited:

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Which computer model are we talking about? This will answer a few details that might be in question. :)

And so there is no confusion, which region of the globe are you located? This makes a difference as to the specific models available in each region.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Take a look in Device Manager and see if you have any drivers with a yellow symbol on them.

One other thing you can try, Windows Update can correct many issues. Check Windows Update for optional updates. Windows update may need to be setup to check for optional updates if you choose to go this route.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
The yellow warnings are under "Other Devices"
Ethernet Controller
Network Controller
PCI Simple Comm Controller

I will see if the wired LAN works and give that a try.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I called Toshiba and they said they don't have 32 bit drivers for the network HW on this laptop. They recommended I try the mfr website. I had to ask them the mfr and PN since they are not listed on the spec sheet, and, of course, are not recognized in the Device Manager.

I went to the Realtek website, but I wonder if I have the wrong Realtek? I can't find anything on there that looks like a driver page. Especially not for the PN's that Toshiba gave me for the hardware in this laptop.

So I am now installing W7Pro64. I can't even recover from the original W7Home64 recovery media I made when I am running W7Pro32. I hope this works. . .
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
FWIW, here is the PN they gave me to use in my search for drivers:

Realtek A000073800

Thanks again for the help.
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Try this page. - Realtek Wireless LAN Driver for Windows 7 (32/64)
This driver is for computers configured with the Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN adapter. Before downloading this driver package, please verify the type of Wireless LAN adapter that is in your computer.

Applicable Models:
Satellite L645D-SP4017L, L645D-SP4017M, L645D-SP4016L, L645D-SP4016M, L645D-SP4015M, L645D-SP4015L, L645-S4032, L645D-S4037WH, L645D-S4037RD, L645D-S4037BN, L645D-S4037, L645D-S4036, L645D-S4030, L645D-S4029, L645D-S4025, L645-S4060, L645-S4059, L645D-S4058WH, L645D-S4058RD, L645D-S4058BN, L645D-S4058, L645D-S4056, L645D-S4053, L645D-S4050WH, L645D-S4050RD, L645D-S4050GY, L645D-S4050BN, L645D-S4050, L645D-S4040, L645D-S4033, L645-SP4006M, L645-SP4006L, L645-SP4004M, L645-SP4004L, L645-SP4003M, L645-SP4003L, L645D-SP4005M, L645D-SP4005L, L645D-SP4002M, L645D-SP4002L, L645D-SP4001M, L645D-SP4001L, L645-S4038, L645-S4026WH, L645-S4026RD, L645-S4026GY, L645-S4026BN, L645-S4026, L645-SP4025M, L645-SP4025L, L645-S4055, L645D-S4052, L645-SP4019M, L645-SP4019L, L645-SP4011M, L645-SP4011L, L645-SP4010L, L645-SP4010M, L645D-SP4022M, L645D-SP4022L, L645D-SP4021L, L645D-SP4021M, L645D-SP4020M, L645D-SP4020L, L645D-SP4023M, L645D-SP4023L
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,321
Reaction score
1,584
When dealing with 32 vs 64 please understand it is like comparing apples to oranges. Drivers are bit specific although some installers come with both and are smart enough to install the right one; do not try drivers clearly marked for a different bit-size. Also, your recovery and backup discs must be created for the OS you have installed, no switching between versions. If you have restore discs that do a complete reinstall you should be able to wipe and completely reinstall the 64bit OS but you cannot use them to fix/repair 32bit problems.

I am curious if the troublesome software will run on XP or more specifically a Virtual PC - XP mode environment (This is a free download with W7 Pro). This is what I would have tried before downgrading to 32-bit.

Anyway since you are 32-bit, on the Toshiba site you can Refine search by OS and select Windows 7 - 32 bit and it will limit the drivers to that OS. The Realtek Wireless LAN Driver for Windows 7 (32/64)(v2007.1.1002.2009; 05-12-2010; 18.29M) is an dual installer to handler 32 & 64bit.

For anyone else reading this post, it is always advisable to get the drivers for the bit-size you are moving to, prior to actually installing. If you don't have a back-up computer and cannot establish network connectivity after changing OSes you could be "in a world of hurt".
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I'd already tried that one. It was one of the 14 or so 32 bit drivers listed for this laptop.

I've re-imaged back to the "new out of box" configuration for this laptop. It is W7Home64 and everything is working.

I guess I will try using the device manager to get the names of the devices and search out 32 bit drivers on my own.

I think I recall an application or utility that does this automatically. . . .
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,321
Reaction score
1,584
First off, those scanners often recommend wrong or out-dated drivers so I only recommend using them for items that aren't working and, even then, make sure you make a restore point first. Second the only ones I know of require you have the OS installed at the time; which means any it recommends at 64-bit are most likely wrong for 32. Third, if you can't get actual drivers from Toshiba to work then you likely have another problem, such as maybe needing the PCI controller driver before the video driver or a bus driver before the LAN driver (I don't know these particular things are interdependent, I am just saying it may be a causal relationship).
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I'm rolled back to "new out of box and just configured" mode. W7Home64.

I am not connected to any network with that laptop.

I used this laptop to download the .exe for Speccy. I installed and ran it on the other machine, but does not seem to capture mfr data for the Network hardware.

I've attached the text file from Speccy.

Here is what is shown in the Network Connections as the hardware:
Atheros AR8152 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
Realtek RTL8188CS Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC

PS - I disabled both Network items and re-ran speccy to see if that was why it could not see the mfr name.

I need to head to work. I will try to find 32 bit drivers for those when I get there.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I'm gaining on it. . .

I found a 32 bit driver for the Atheros and now the Device Mgr shows a Network adapter.

No luck on a 32 bit adapter for the Realtek. I sent them a message.

The Device Mgr shows 2 "Other Devices" with the yellow warnings:
Network Controller
and
PCI Simple Communications Controller

I think if I can get those going, I'll have wireless. I think those are the Realtek.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I think I am 99% there. I have wired and wireless LAN now. When I got the wired going I connected to the internet from within my office so Windows could update. After 3 rounds of updates I had wirless.

The only items in the Device Mgr that still have the yellow warnings are:

PCI simple communcations controlelr
and one of the
"USB Mass Storage Device"

The PC seems to have issues with seeing an SD card after a safe removal. Those could be related to this issue.

Anyhow. I'll know this afternoon if our office software runs OK (the IT dept will remote install Office 2003 and a few other applications).
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
If you are using a 64-Bit OS, 64-Bit drivers are required.
If you are using a 32-Bit OS, 32-Bit drivers are required.

Your first post said you had changed from 64-Bit to 32-Bit. This is why I was pushing the 32-Bit drivers.

Now you are saying that you went back to using the original 64-Bit OS. In this case you will need 64-Bit drivers that are listed on the manufacturers website.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Sorry for the confusion - here is the timeline

Buy new Laptop with W7Home64

Buy discs for W7Pro32 and 64

Setup new laptop

Image and Create Recovery Disc

Clean Install W7Pro32 - no LAN device drivers

Tried 32 bit drivers from Toshiba and it did not work

Clean Install W7Pro64 - no LAN device drivers

Unable to find 32 bit drivers based on make/model of hardware, but did not have full name of hardware (Toshiba did not know, had bad info)

Restored back to original configuration W7Home64

Found names of hardware in Dev Mgr

Searched for 32 bit drivers, found Atheros AR8152 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
driver on Atheros website

Clean Install W7Pro32

Installed Atheros driver and got the Wired LAN to work.

Plugged into company network and allowed Windows to go through Auto-updates.
After 3 updates, the wireless started working.
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
WOW - What a sequence.

That is a prime example of why they say "Download your drivers before you Re-install.

I hate you had to go through that extreme process. I am glad you finally have network drivers. :)

Sorry i wasn't of much help to you.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top