Purchased 64 OEM by accident. Do I eat my mistake?

Reaction score
I did not install it becase it would not insall on my 32 bit machine, How can I make this right. Can anything be done to make my computer work without having to buy entirely new license even thought I did open the pack, but failed at instaling? This is my first build, and I did not know that my machine was not capable of 64 bit mode, or that I could not exchange it after Opening it. I dont have money in my budget to buy an additional os at full price. I know that Microsoft offers deals for OS upgrades if you already own a license from an earlier os,,,, If I Register my copy of windows 7 64, can I "downrgrade" to 32 without paying fullprice because do own a os liscence? Can anything be done because this
was an honest,and huge mistake?

Reaction score
You'd have to contact Microsoft and tell them of the situation. I could see them possibly canceling your current activation key and supplying you with a new one. You might have to pay a small fee for them to ship a 32 bit DVD to you or they might actually supply a download link.

In any case, Microsoft would be the only ones able to help if the retailer refuses.

Anyhow, you say this is a "build" so I'd have to assume that means new. Any computer built with any components and cpu recent at all is going to be 64 bit capable.

Do you know which exact motherboard and cpu you have?

Last edited:

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
If you really need the 32-bit version then go to this link: https://www.w7forums.com/windows-7-iso-official-direct-download-links-t2910.html

Only Home Premium and Professional are available from Digital River for an ISO image download though. Ultimate links died several months ago.

Download the ISO image you need and you ImgBurn to burn it to a DVD blank disc at no faster than 8x burning speed. Then use the verify function to make sure it was a good burn.

YOU CAN USE THE SAME KEY!

TrainableMan