PSU still on after shutdown


Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hi,

Have got 64bit HP of Win7. I did a clean install. everything appears to be running fine.

Unfortunately, whenever i shut down my pc, i don't whether it's everything or just the psu fan but there is still power on!!

Any ideas why the the pc won't power off??

Cheers

Stuey
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,467
Reaction score
631
Does the PSU turn off if you leave it along for a few mins? Also, what happens when you turn the PC back on?

It could be a faulty PSU, but if this happened only when you upgraded the OS then it seems too much of a co-incidence. Can you try the following to see if this helps (it has done the trick for some other users):

"Click “Start”, on “Computer” click right mouse button and select “Properties”, click “Device Manager”, select “IEEE 1394 Bus Host Controllers” group, only contains one device called “VIA 1394 OHCI Compilant Host Controller” on that click right mouse button and select “Properties”, select “Power Management” tab, and finally check the “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power” box.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hi Ian,

Thanks for replying.

I haven't left it long enought to answer your first point.... I generally hold the power button in until it switchs off. When i turn it back on, it loads fine.

The only difference at the moment is that i have to install expressgate for windows 7 (asus p5kpl/1600 mobo). Maybe a bios update??

I will try the device manager tingy when i get back from work tonight and let you know.

Cheers

Stuey
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,467
Reaction score
631
Good luck - hopefully that solution posted above will do the trick, but if not and we'll work on it. If you can down the PC off by holding down the power button for 4 seconds then it doesn't sound like a PSU problem (which is good news).
 

rak

Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
8
Reaction score
3
I think, by default, the power options do not switch off by holding down the power Button. I could be wrong, but have no way to chech it without reinstalling. You may be going into standbye, hibernate or sleep mode. I am almost certain it is the last (sleep)??
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi Stueyuk

Check windows power management settings and ACPI power settings in the bios - you could be going into standby or hibernation/sleep instead of shutting down.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Does the PSU turn off if you leave it along for a few mins? Also, what happens when you turn the PC back on?

It could be a faulty PSU, but if this happened only when you upgraded the OS then it seems too much of a co-incidence. Can you try the following to see if this helps (it has done the trick for some other users):

Hi Ian,

Thanks very much for the tip, it worked a treat!!! Just one question.... what have allowed to shut down to save power??? looool

As for the bios, i checked last night and the power settings are as follows:

Suspend Mode [AUTO]
ACPI 2.0 SUPPORT [DISABLED]
ACPI APIC SUPPORT [ENABLED]

Does this look okay??? Afraid i'm not that good with bios stuff....

Cheers

Stuey
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,467
Reaction score
631
I'm not sure why it worked either - seems odd that an option to save power will use more ;) IEEE 1394 is more commonly known as FireWire, so why this would cause the system to hang on shutdown I do not know - at least it works now though :) It could actually be because you have ACPI 2.0 support disabled.

There's more on this option here: http://www.techarp.com/showFreeBOG.aspx?lang=0&bogno=381
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Crazy but that's computers for you!!!!!!

From reading that arricle on ACPI i will go in and enable it tonight seeing as it recommends it be done....

Thanks again for your help mate, was well chuffed it shutdown for once!! lol
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top