NO SOUND with soundMAX integrated card


Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Hello, :)

I am running Windows 7 on my old laptop (HP DV 4305US, Intel Celeron with 1.25 GB RAM). Everything is great besides the sound. The intergrated sound card has installed, uodated automatically, everything looks normal but the computer refuses to give a sound.

I like Windows 7. It is fast even with older machines.

Hope someone can fix the soundMAX issue. Unfortunately, HP does not have a vista driver or so because the DV 4305US was designed for XP.

Thanks,

DIDDL :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
My PC has an integrated SoundMAX Sound Card (it's also an HP).

When I installed Windows 7 it downloaded and installed my sound drivers automatically, and they work fine.

Here are the Update Details, maybe they'll help you:

Analog Devices driver update for SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio

Installation date: ‎1/‎11/‎2009 5:32 PM

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Recommended

This driver was provided by Analog Devices for support of SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=3339

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
-------------------------------------------------
SOUNDMAX problem SOLLUTION
-------------------------------------------------
i use this metode and work, i hope it will work with your problem too :

1. download this soundMAX driver, then extract it

2. then go to START >> right click COMPUTER >> and choose PROPERTIES


3. Choose Device Manager then right click on SoundMAX ....

4. Right click on it then choose Update driver >> go on Browse my computer for driver and software then choose Let me pic ........


5. Click on Have Disk then direct on the driver which you download before [downloaded SoundMAX driver on step 1]


6. If there any notification from Windows, ignore it

7. Restart, and "ding"
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
:)
Hello Ryan,

It looks like that my system is older and that this is the reason for the trouble.

Thank you for your help.

DIDDL
:ciao:
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
:adore:

Hello MazDan,

I appreciate your complete description. However, it is not working for me.Maybe, I have messed up my system by trying different things. My computer tells me now after restart: "ADI codec drivers are missing!"

I have an old Intel Celeron chip with integrated graphics(3.5 years). This might be the reason. Here the information of the graphic card:

I am not sure if this information is helpful, but anyway::dontknow:

Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile Report
Report Date: 01/17/2009
Report Time[hr:mm:ss]: 09:39:30
Driver Version: 6.14.10.4543
Operating System: * , (6.1.7000)
Default Language: English
DirectX* Version: 9.0
Physical Memory: 1269 MB
Minimum Graphics Memory: 8 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 128 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 10 MB
Processor: x86 family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8
Processor Speed: 1396 MHZ
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 2592
Device Revision: 04
* Accelerator Information *
Accelerator in Use: Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family
Video BIOS: 1222
Current Graphics Mode: 1280 by 800 True Color (60 Hz)
* Devices Connected to the Graphics Accelerator *
Active Notebook Displays: 1
* Notebook *
Monitor Name: @monitor.inf,%pnpmonitor.devicedesc%;Generic PnP Monitor
Display Type: Digital
Gamma Value: 2.0
DDC2 Protocol: Supported
Maximum Image Size: Horizontal: Not Available
Vertical: Not Available
Monitor Supported Modes:
1280 by 800 (60 Hz)
Display Power Management Support:
Standby Mode: Not Supported
Suspend Mode: Not Supported
Active Off Mode: Not Supported
* Other names and brands are the property of their respective owners.

I think I have to live without sound.:rolleyes:

Thank you very much for the help and I hope still for a solution. :adore:

DIDDL :ciao:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Thank you for this solution, but It doesn't work for me either. I am dual bootign with Win xp pro(audiio works fine) and win7(no audio).

after I tried your solution I get the message that the device cannot start (Code10)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
:D

Hello,

Thanks to all posters.

I tried everything several times and out of a sudden

I HAVE SOUND!!

I updated the driver and maybe MS or HP changed something. I do not know. Furthermore, I do not know what I did exactly, therefore, I cannot summit any steps how to solve the problem.

My idea is:
1. uninstall everything connected to audio
2. use a tools like pcoptimizer to clean registry
3. look for changed hardware and let W7 install everything
4. restart and hopefully you will have sound
5. No guarantee, because I got the sound accidentally

Thanks to everybody for helping me.

W7 is a great system for me even though I have old hardware!
Well Done Microsoft.

DIDDL
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top