Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint

Reaction score
Hi guys.
I have a small problem with installing Microsoft Office Word, Excel and PowerPoint.
I download it, install and when I double click on them it opens normally.
Then I want to write something and I can't find a tool for ''New''.
Same problem in Excel and PowerPoint, it gives me a location to find a document on HDD to open it in Word,Excel and PowerPoint I assume.
First I downloaded the Update from Microsoft's site so I can use those programs.
Think the problem is that I download Viewer's for following programs.
But, what do I know. I'm new to W7, had a not genuine OS XP.

Please help,
Thank you

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
You dont say which version of Office you are using. But the two most recent. open on a blank page. Or. Click File - New

Reaction score
Nope, That is not working.
As I said I don't have those functions. :(
Version 2007

Reaction score
You most likely have Office 2007 and the menus are a mess. I use Classic Menu for Office which puts back the old menus just so I can navigate. I think you'll find the commands you need if you click on the orb on the upper left.

Fire cat

Established Member
Reaction score
You most likely have Office 2007 and the menus are a mess. I use Classic Menu for Office which puts back the old menus just so I can navigate. I think you'll find the commands you need if you click on the orb on the upper left.
If he does have Office 2007, then the first entry in the orb is "new"...

The easiest way to make a new document is:
Ctrl + N

Cheers,
Fire Cat

Reaction score
I was also lost in Office 2007 because of the Ribbon interface. I installed a free office 2007 classic menus application and problem solved. I cannot for the love of me understand why MS has gone the way of the MAC. At the least MS should give us the option of classic menus. Otherwise W7 is great!

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score