SOLVED Malwarebytes


Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I am using the new Malwarebytes but It doesn't find a well known malware known as registry helper, people say it's the best but if it doesn't find Registry helper it can't be that good.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
How do you know that?
Hi, I know because everytime I start my pc I get a message saying that Registry helper didnt start properly and tries to get me to restart my pc. I went to a website and asked about Registry helper and was advised to download Malwarebytes
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,135
Reaction score
252
So when you ran MalwareBytes did you update the Database prior to scanning?
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,135
Reaction score
252
Have you tried running MalwareBytes in Safe Mode.
You could download and run Windows Defender Offline. It will create a CD / DVD / USB and will boot and scan your hard drive offline.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,135
Reaction score
252
Cheers mate, just let us know how you get on. If you can't remove it I know where you can go for help on specific virus/malware removal.
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,351
Reaction score
1,587
Just because Malwarebytes removes a threat does not mean it cleans up your startup. It is quite possible that the reason you get the "error message" is because malwarebytes deleted a nasty program and so now at startup that program is nowhere to be found.

Use MSConfig.exe to disable programs that should no longer be attempted on startup. Or, even more convenient, if you have CCleaner, use Tools > Startup > Windows and disable its' startup; after a reboot, once you are certain you disabled the right application call, you can return to CCleaner startup and delete it completely.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Just because Malwarebytes removes a threat does not mean it cleans up your startup. It is quite possible that the reason you get the "error message" is because malwarebytes deleted a nasty program and so now at startup that program is nowhere to be found.

Use MSConfig.exe to disable programs that should no longer be attempted on startup. Or, even more convenient, if you have CCleaner, use Tools > Startup > Windows and disable its' startup; after a reboot, once you are certain you disabled the right application call, you can return to CCleaner startup and delete it completely.
Hey TrainableMan thanks for the tip I do have CCleaner and have disabled the startup and it works, thanks for everyones help your awesome :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,351
Reaction score
1,587
Glad it worked out for you. I will go ahead and mark this as solved but if the problem should return you can always open it again.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top