I'm a Watercooling Noob!

Reaction score
Title related. I am hunting for a high-pressure water pump. GPH does not matter too much, I just need pressure. My system is 3/8in ID (10mm ID). I have a Koolance waterblock that has very low resistance, however my radiator has very high resistance... it's a '62 Chevy transmission fluid cooler. No, I am not going to buy a different radiator. I am wondering if anyone has any good recommendations pump-wise for high resistance systems. Thanks!

Reaction score
Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks Cliff :) those are certainly better than the fountain pump I have now. However, the barbs are too big. I have a 3/8in system... now to find 1/2 to 3/8in adapters :D

Kougar

OCing one chip at a time
Reaction score
Okay, firstly the Laing D5 is the exact same pump as the MCP655, Swiftech rebadges them. :D Second, this pump is best for high GPH and low pressure... It's been awhile but I do recall that the Swiftech MCP355 was better suited for high-pressure pumping, but it has a lower GPH rating than the larger 655.

I'm not familiar with the Koolance pump listed, nor many others for that matter... there are some custom fabbed tops for the MCP355 (and 655) that will increase flow or pressure ratings too, as yet another option. The most extreme users will recommend Iwaki pumps, these are industrial grade units and can deliver any sort of pressure rating you're looking for, but they come with a matching price.

After a certain point it'd become cheaper just to get a standardized computer radiator though, so I'm not sure how far you want to go with it. ;)

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Cliff - how is your new water cooler setup working? I am curious and would you post the temperatures, if possible?

Thanks,
~Nibs :)

Reaction score