IE9 in Windows 7 Home and Professional

lyb

Reaction score
I'm a programmer for our company and recently we noticed that there are some features that no longer work on the site when viewed in IE9. These features are run by jQuery (and jQuery on the site is the latest version).

If you were to go to http://lookingyourbest.com
Scroll down to see the Featured Doctors,
Click on any doctor,
Then click on "Email" it should bring up a form on an overlay.

Now, I installed Windows 7 on another computer (I use Linux) in order to run some testing. And out of the box, that feature worked, yet, on my boss's and co-worker's computers it did not. We check versions and settings, and everything is identical, until I noticed that on the computer where it is working, it's running Windows 7 HOME edition.

Everyone else is running Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL edition.

The consistency of the breakage is happening on the Professional edition boxes.

So, my question is, is there something in the Professional version of Windows 7 that would disallow jQuery from running on our website?

John

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
You are of course welcome to post your question here but have you also tried the jquery forum HERE?

I don't know if anyone here uses JQuery but I guess we shall see.

lyb

Reaction score
I'll do that.

However, since it is working in ie9 on the Home version and not on the Professional version, I'm hoping that someone will know why.

Core

all ball, no chain
Reaction score
this is probably a redundant question, but are you sure all the instances of IE are 9 and not 8? I'm just asking because JQuery dropped support for IE8 during the summer, and IE8 comes as the default browser at least on my Windows 7 installations (Pro and Home Premium).

lyb

Reaction score
Yes, all installation we are talking about are ie9. We verified version numbers on all of them against the Home installation.