How to copy a bootable CD, not a Windows CD


Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
I have a bootable CD with Norton Ghost on it that I use to backup my partitions to a second drive. I want to make a copy of this disc before it doesn't work anymore but how? I've spent almost half a day googling how to do this simple task and can't find and answer. I'm not trying to copy my windows CD.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
1,132
Reaction score
101
I've not tried it myself ( with a bootable CD) but free burner programs like imgburn or infrarecorder (both free downloads) have option for CD copy.. you could try one of those.
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Yes, just use ImgBurn, it's a free burning app and does a good job.

You can download it at: www.imgburn.com

What you do is first "Create an Image from Disc" function.

Then, "Write an Image to Disc" and you'll be all set.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
I'm with Nibiru, ImgBurn will handle most any of your burning/copying needs. I've never tried to make a copy of commercial software before, some discs may have copyright protection built in. If so, you may have problems. All you can do is try and see.

Cat
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Will it copy a bootable CD? I'm not trying to copy commercial software. This is a disc a coworker made that boots and has a menu of options he made that will launch Norton Ghost.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
You know how we can format a floppy and check the box that says "Make bootable"? It will copy the system code to make it boot. Why can't we have the same option for making bootable CDs? Why does everything have to be so difficult?
 
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
Will it copy a bootable CD? I'm not trying to copy commercial software. This is a disc a coworker made that boots and has a menu of options he made that will launch Norton Ghost.
ImgBurn will handle what you want to do, it's a free app. There is a copy option there. If it's bootable, the copy will be, too.

They try to get you to install a toolbar, but you can uncheck those options easily.

Cat
 

Fire cat

Established Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
191
As far as I know, all CDs and DVDs are bootable by default, as long as you have something to boot into.

ImgBurn is a great tool, as well as Nero.
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
svrich -
Will it copy a bootable CD? I'm not trying to copy commercial software. This is a disc a coworker made that boots and has a menu of options he made that will launch Norton Ghost.
Yes, ImgBurn takes an "image" of the CD and burns it exactly as it is on the disc.

You know how we can format a floppy and check the box that says "Make bootable"? It will copy the system code to make it boot. Why can't we have the same option for making bootable CDs? Why does everything have to be so difficult?
That's because on a floppy disk, MS DOS is copied on to the disc, which allows it to boot into a DOS enviroment.

FC -
As far as I know, all CDs and DVDs are bootable by default, as long as you have something to boot into.
Not necessarily so, making a bootable CD or DVD is an option which is chosen when burning the disc.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Thanks, I used imageburn and the resultant CD was bootable. Yay! something worked!
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
[/QUOTE]That's because on a floppy disk, MS DOS is copied on to the disc, which allows it to boot into a DOS enviroment.
[/QUOTE]


Yes why can't that be done for CDs as well?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
That's because on a floppy disk, MS DOS is copied on to the disc, which allows it to boot into a DOS environment.

Yes why can't that be done for CDs as well?
It can, you just have to select "Create a bootable CD" option in whatever burning program you're using. Some offer the option others don't. With some programs it will be in the "Advanced' section also.

ImgBurn gives you the function to make a bootable CD with several bootable options to choose from.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top