SOLVED How do I remove XP Recovery Concole.

Reaction score
Hi, Let me first thank you for allowing me to join this forum. I have searched the web for two days for an answer to this small but annoying problem and have got nowhere. I have been installing OS on my home built computers for over ten years now but this has stumped me. After I clean installed Win 7 Ultimate on my wife's XP Pro computer I find at boot up that the old XP Recovery Console entry is still on the boot menu. I have tried several partition and boot menu tools but none show the entry to give the option to delete it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Trev

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Open Msconfig and look under the startup Tab. You may see the entry there and can delete it.

Reaction score
Hi Dave and Cliff , yes, already had tried both EasyBCD and msconfig but no good, What Ive done for now, to stop wife from bugging me, was to set timeout to 0 so box boots straight into OS. Thanks for your time and will come back later in case someone else finds or knows a remedy, Cheers

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Go into the Windows Explorer - Tools - Folder Options - View. Change the option to show system files and folders. This should now show, if not before, the boot.iniBcdedit does not show settings from the boot.ini file.Edit out the offending setting and you will boot withoutstopping at the boot manager, as it did before.But what you have done has sorted the problem anyway - well done!

Reaction score
Hi there

You can remove the recovery console without any problems. I have removed it in the past myself from XP machines. What you have already done is one way around it, but if you want to remove it completely and you are unable to resolve it by any of the methods above which has been recommended to you then you can follow these instructions below.

First I need to check to see if a file is present or not on your system.