Email on Windows 7

Reaction score
I know I'm not the first to be disappointed that OE has been dropped from W7. I have tried using live mail and whilst it has some good features it's not what I want to continue using my ISP (Talktalk) addresses. I do not want any kind of web mail.

Can anyone advise an alternative free email client that will broadly equal (or surpass) OE and which works with W7.

Previously I used XP but lost most when my old laptop expired suddenly, so no suggestions such as copy across from your old OS etc. I have limited knowledge and experience of computing so assume a complete novice when you reply, please.

Here's hoping.

Johnboy

Reaction score
Veedaz - thanks for your quick reply, and suggestions. But Hotmail is a webmail system, isn't it? I want to have my inbox/sent items available off as well as online. I don't want it stored remotely. I have opened a Windows live mail address (also a webmail system) but want to get back to having my taltalk emails directly onto the desktop, not via live mail, or googlemail etc.

Do you know if something like Thunderbird, or Postbox would work like OE, or are they webmail systems too?

TIA

Johnboy

Reaction score
Hi Johnboy - Welcome to w7forums

I read something about HotMail not supporting POP3 now. I'm not sure if this is true or not. If this is true, it does not matter which Email client you use. If there is a different way to store Email locally without POP3, I am not aware of it.

PS - please take my post lightly, I'm only adding to the conversation not stating fact.

Veedaz

~
Reaction score
On a side note:

Poppeeper (freeware) works in Windows 7 32 / 64-bit is a desktop Notification, Sent Mail Viewer and uses your mail providers security, I use this and i can read replies to threads and PMs at this Forum without logging in (if you have set notification in User CP), I find it very handy.

Link > http://www.poppeeper.com/download.php

Reaction score
Thanks to all you guys for your suggestions.