Double Sync with mapped NAS?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by 437emanuel, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. 437emanuel

    437emanuel

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a QNAP Network Attached Storage in my home network as a mapped drive Y: Now with Windows 7 Professional, I have set up a Sync Partnership to have the Y: drive offline available on my PC. It now looks like it's synchronizing twice, once under the Network name "FLEUTI" and once under the Computer mapped drive "PUBLIC (\\192...) Y: At least it constantly overflows my harddrive with >70 GB data in the offline location where the NAS only has a total of 39 GB data.

    See attachment (NAS): "Network > FLEUTI > Public" seems to refer to the same location as "Computer > Public (\\....) (Y:)". Both are marked for offline sync. And both are displayed in the Sync Center as Partnerships (see attachement Sync) and if synchronizing, then my HD is flooded.

    => Do I need both references to this (same) location?
    => If not, how can I remove one - and which one?
    => How can I make sure I only get the NAS made offline once?

    Thanks for support!
     

    Attached Files:

    437emanuel, Feb 15, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 437emanuel

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    630
    As it happens, I've also got a QNAP NAS which is sync'd - but I don't have this problem. There's no need to have both set up as sync partnerships, so you can try to remove one of them by browsing to the offline folder, right click > properties > offline files > uncheck "always available offline" > ok.

    If that doesn't do the trick, try mapping the drive using the full share name rather than the IP address (i.e. //FLEUTI/Public instead of //192.168.0.3//Public).
     
    Ian, Feb 16, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 437emanuel

    437emanuel

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks; well, deleting a snyc partnership is not offered, but taking folders away from offline-availability works; however, results didn't really work (although I found out how to delete offline chache).
    I then mapped the NAS with full name "FLEUTI" - bad luck. Now nothing syncs anymore and the IP address reappeared in the Network list (see attached image): On left: Network mapped NAS "FLEUTI". In middle: reappeared IP-address with NAS. On right: Folder under the "Computer":
    - how can I define just 1 address to the NAS (and which one)?
    - and set up one sync process that works?
    Thanks for support.
     

    Attached Files:

    437emanuel, Feb 17, 2011
    #3
  4. 437emanuel

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    630
    That's strange that the IP address has appeared in your network list - I've only got the full NAS name appearing on mine.

    Have you updated the NAS firmware (I know that one of the old 3.x versions had a bug with syncing via Samba, as this caused problems for me).

    Can you try removing the sync partnership, unmap the drive and then turn the NAS, Router and PC all off and back on again - just to try and clear that 2nd entry for the NAS on your network list. Then, map the drive again and add the sync partnership via the mapped drive only.
     
    Ian, Feb 18, 2011
    #4
  5. 437emanuel

    437emanuel

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, I'm working on it. Also strange that I couldn't delete all offline files in the CSC; about 15 GB remain in there, no matter how hard I try....
    We'll see.
     
    437emanuel, Feb 21, 2011
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. thanweb

    Problems accessing NAS on Windows 7

    thanweb, Jan 22, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    34
    Views:
    79,820
    Djas47
    Dec 29, 2012
  2. noneil

    Insert Mapped Drive into Taskbar Menu

    noneil, May 13, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,061
    MSbwood
    Apr 5, 2010
  3. ptanser

    Windows & with Netgear Nas

    ptanser, Oct 18, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,943
    Kougar
    Oct 24, 2009
  4. Boriquaman

    W7 Pro - Can't connect to NAS

    Boriquaman, Oct 24, 2009, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,599
    Boriquaman
    Oct 25, 2009
  5. Ken1943

    Mapped Drive Cure

    Ken1943, Nov 7, 2009, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,240
    Ken1943
    Nov 7, 2009
  6. hamilton

    Accessing NAS drive - error code 1208

    hamilton, Nov 24, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,978
    hamilton
    Nov 24, 2009
  7. bouncybouncy

    Secure NAS behind router?

    bouncybouncy, Jan 13, 2010, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    4,686
    Veedaz
    Jan 14, 2010
  8. bdresch

    Windows 7 Backup to NAS

    bdresch, Mar 5, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    27,755
Loading...