SOLVED Creating my own "unbloated" Windows 7

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score
I made one of the backup discs provided to us through Digital River. My system is legal, still fairly new (two and a half months old), and I have my Windows Home Premium (64 bit) key. What I want to do is do my own install without all of the "bloatware" that's included with my system. But I do want to keep some of the programs. I have a recent backup (yesterday) of my current system state. Also, I plan to dual boot with XP Pro SP3. That's no problem. And my recovery partition will remain in place. Now, here's my concern, as I've never done this before. Will I be able to move my preferred programs from my backup onto my new Windows 7 partition? It's on a WD external drive. Or should I use Power2Go to burn my preferred programs to disc, and install them that way? And another thing of importance: Will my key work to do the install with, or will I have to obtain another?

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
Reaction score
As far as I know the only "good" way to move programs from one install of Windows to the other is to have the installation file for that program. Just moving the folders & data usually won't work. If you are not using the key for any other computer, then you should be fine.

Veedaz

~
Reaction score
Have you looked into making a slipstream DVD and incorporating applications you want Cat ?

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
There is a program called NLite which you can do what want.

There are tutorials on it also.

Veedaz

~
Reaction score
Ive used NLite in Slipstreaming XP it works very well it does need .NET Framework 2.0 to run and you may have to use compatibility mode

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score