SOLVED Application launch failure message. Tried system restore!


Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hello all, I just recently did a factory reset on my HP 2000-219DX Laptop which runs Windows 7 Home Premium to get a fresh start as my computer was PAINFULLY slow before. I installed every update that windows update and HP update could find before I installed any programs on my computer. I installed Age of Empires 2 and the Conquerors expansion and went to a high traffic website that has all the official updates for the game and saw an additional update that was supposed to correct the color issue the game has on vista and 7 operating systems. This update was a registry edit. I did the "update" and tried to launch the game and got the following error below. I moronically did the registry edit without doing a backup first, but fortunately, I had a restore point from the 27th when I was updating my computer to restore my system to. I reinstalled the game and got the same issue. Then I did a system restore and attempted to install the game again and got the same issue. I am not very computer savvy but am able to follow instructions quite well, and know how to do research. As far as I can tell the .exe file for the game is trying to find a piece of information needed to launch that is just missing which is what - according to my research - the Exception Code means, but reinstalling the game does not fix it... I'm at a loss.. I really don't want to have to do another factory restore just to play a stupid game lol.



Also: wouldn't the system restore have restored my registry and removed the "update" that I did?



Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: EMPIRES2.EXE
Application Version: 0.14.22.712
Application Timestamp: 39660360
Fault Module Name: EMPIRES2.EXE
Fault Module Version: 0.14.22.712
Fault Module Timestamp: 39660360
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000e415
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 2069
Additional Information 2: 206962ad316f986b61f1463ef54d6f48
Additional Information 3: 9a17
Additional Information 4: 9a1751e9e33514d1436d589727e342ca

I know somebody out there knows how to decipher this information...
If more information is needed, please let me know.

I can attach the file that I used to edit my registry if that would be helpful, but I don't know if attaching that file is something I'm allowed to do...

Any help provided is greatly appreciated!
Thank you!
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,312
Reaction score
1,583
Zip up the file that you used to edit your registry and attach it please
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,312
Reaction score
1,583
So the file doesn't do that much really; it creates a folder in the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility called aoe2x10cp

and adds 3 entries in the folder along with specified values:
"Name"="age2_x1.exe"
"ID"=hex:EC,33,74,3B
"Flags"=hex:00,08,00,00

So if you restored the system prior to your running this or if you simply wanted to undo it, just delete the aoe2x10cp folder from under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Thank you for your reply, I actually just did another reset because I was impatient. The game still doesn't work and has the same error...

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: age2_x1.exe
Application Version: 0.7.25.614
Application Timestamp: 39660360
Fault Module Name: age2_x1.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.7.25.614
Fault Module Timestamp: 39660360
Exception Code: c000001d
Exception Offset: 0000e413
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: d3d8
Additional Information 2: d3d8e088cf0979cb29a9c4d3503d85a1
Additional Information 3: a73c
Additional Information 4: a73c35a81279cb03857873935a1ff483

Also tried running a batch file that closes explorer for me and reopens it once I close the program. As follows:
taskkill /F /IM explorer.exe
age2_x1.exe
start explorer.exe

The batch file works correctly, but still the app crashes.

And... I tried running it as an administrator, in Windows XP SP2 compatibility mode, and all the other options in the properties menu. No dice.
The .exe file changed because Installed the expansion for Age of Empires 2 because I was so sure this was gonna fix it lol.

Again thank you for your assistance and thank you for your patience.
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,312
Reaction score
1,583
Well the registry update patch seems to just set some Compatibility values for DirectX's DirectDraw to use. You can run DXDIAG.exe and check the display tab to make sure DirectDraw is enabled.

But as for getting Empires 2 working on Windows 7, you may get lucky and someone see your post here but you might have better luck posting on a gaming forum for more ideas.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hey, I appreciate your time. What's irritating is that it USED to work, but it just stopped working one day.. probably some windows update that ruined it.. lol I'll try a gaming forum next. Thank you!
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Figured it out! Apparently update KB3086255 was keeping it from launching. Apparently this effects a lot of older games. So I uninstalled that update, and tried to launch it and it still didn't launch but I didn't get an error. So, I used the batch file I created above and it flipping worked!

Woo! Hope this helps someone else.
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,312
Reaction score
1,583
Congratulations & Thank you for sharing the solution
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top