Alienware x51 Strip out.

Reaction score
Hey all.
I'm new here and was referred too this website by a friend as you guys seem to be the best. Basically I have an Alienware x51. I know now that this was a terrible idea at the time but I didn't want to spend a grand on parts only for me to do something stupid and mess the whole thing up. So now I've purchased an EVGA GTX 670 FTW for it. Only it seems to be causing me nothing but reboots. I've already been through everything with different sites and have come to the conclusion that I need a better PSU, despite the fact that Irishlad147 has had no issues with it. My question is I'm now looking at stripping out the internals and putting them all in a new case with a 600w PSU. However I think it's a miniture motherboard and everything inside the PC leads to one point due to the external brick, will I need a new motherboard or anything? Sorry if this seems really nooby but I'm pretty new at the building end of things.
Cheers and happy holidays :)

Reaction score
Is this the PC you purchased? - Alienware X51 Mini Gaming Desktop

There seems to be 4 different base models that are all configurable. Have you considered contacting Dell to see if there is upgrade options available?

Without knowing exactly which configuration you have, there is little we can suggest. It looks as if the Alienware X51 has a proprietary PSU. If thats the case then you may have no option but to contact Dell for a replacement.

Reaction score
Is this the PC you purchased? - Alienware X51 Mini Gaming Desktop

There seems to be 4 different base models that are all configurable. Have you considered contacting Dell to see if there is upgrade options available?

Without knowing exactly which configuration you have, there is little we can suggest. It looks as if the Alienware X51 has a proprietary PSU. If thats the case then you may have no option but to contact Dell for a replacement.