SOLVED Downgrade 64 bit to 32 bit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tech1234, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. tech1234

    tech1234

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I bought an Acer Aspire with windows 7 Home Premium installed. The software key label is on the bottom of the computer. I want to change to Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit. I have several work programs that will only run on 32 bit systems. I have downloaded the 32-bit Windows 7 Home Premium x86 ISO to a thumb drive. I have gathered from other forum articles that I can use the key on the label for the 64 bit installed system for the 32 bit system that I install? I also will make Acer recovery discs in case the 32 bit install doesn't work? This is a brand new computer so there is nothing to save from the 64 bit system is there? Do you have a procedure to install from the thumb drive?
    tech1234, Dec 30, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. tech1234

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,110
    Location:
    PA, USA
    First off the OS that came preinstalled will NOT match the ISO you downloaded. The manufacturer almost always adds stuff to it. 85%-95% of the software they install is garbage and trialware but there may be a few programs of value such as to control extra keyboard keys or display onscreen volume etc; if you can't get them from the manufacturer then you may need to do without or find alternatives.

    It's also a good idea to download the 32-bit drivers and have those on hand in case W7 cannot find them on it's own.

    Article: How to install from Flash Drive
    TrainableMan, Dec 31, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. tech1234

    Super Sarge

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Some Where on Planet Earth I Think
    What makes you think 32 bit programs will not run on W7 64 bit? I run numerous 32 bit programs on my W7 64 bit. How much memory did this Acer come with?
    Super Sarge, Dec 31, 2010
    #3
  4. tech1234

    tech1234

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I am an Auto Technician. I need to use an MDI (diagnostic Interface). There are no 64 bit drivers for this unit to run the software required. The Acer has 4 GB ram and 580 GB hard drive.
    So - I backed up the drivers from the Acer recovery discs and let it rip. Everything went fine except there were no drivers for my network adapter. I got that from the recovery disc and then it all worked fine. The only things that seem to be missing are all the Acer crap. So there you have it. As long as you are loading the same edition as was loaded on the machine, you can use the same product key for 32 or 64 bit. Thanks to this forum I got it handled myself!
    tech1234, Dec 31, 2010
    #4
  5. tech1234

    sportster05

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Reading forum & totally confused after having xpx64 microsoft had no upgrade for 64 bit sp3 am wondering if same will happen to (7) some programs would not load if sp3 not avail .Am novice so I don't know if 32 best or not! What does everyone think?
    sportster05, Jan 2, 2011
    #5
  6. tech1234

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Hi sportster05 - Welcome to the Windows 7 Forums website!

    To answer your first question, Windows XP X64 did NOT NEED a Service Pack 3, only the X86 version. XP X64 was a more complete initially and didn't need an SP3.

    Regarding your second question, I never had much trouble on programs installing or loading with XP X64.

    Trying to second-guess Microsoft and what will be done regarding service packs is like trying to figure out the mind of a woman... nearly impossible. :D So don't worry about it and relax.

    If you have 64-bit capapble hardware, then go with Windows 7 X64 version and take full advantage of the hardware and OS. :cool:
    Nibiru2012, Jan 2, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Another Andy

    downgrade from 64bit to 32bit

    Another Andy, Dec 5, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    5,117
    mattweed9
    Dec 6, 2009
  2. WyldBlackWolf

    to downgrade or not to downgrade a users plea

    WyldBlackWolf, Dec 11, 2009, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,161
    WyldBlackWolf
    Jan 7, 2010
  3. akayski

    Windows 7 - 64bit Downgrade

    akayski, Dec 17, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,326
    akayski
    Dec 17, 2009
  4. wan_728

    Downgrade Windows 7

    wan_728, Feb 14, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,369
    Nibiru2012
    Feb 14, 2010
  5. Lead_jbt

    Downgrade

    Lead_jbt, Jun 27, 2011, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,427
    Lead_jbt
    Jun 29, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page