IE8 stopped working, but Firefox works

Reaction score
I've been using Windows 7 for about 4 months without a problem. Suddenly, IE8 will not display any web page, but Foxfire 3.5.8 continues to work as before. The diagnostic message on IE is: "the remote device or resource won't accept the connection". I have the same problem when trying Safari, Chrome, & Opera.

Just before I became aware of the problem, I apparently had a virus-originated message disguised as an anti-virus tool. It claimed to be scanning for viruses. I tried to shut it down with Task Manager, but the Task Manager kept disappearing, so I powered the computer down. After restarting, I did a Norton Internet Security scan, which showed only a tracking cookie. The following day, though, Norton quarantined Trojan.FakeAV, which, according to Symantec's description, displays false antivirus alerts and lowers security settings on compromised computers.
Since I still have Firefox and Thunderbird, the problem is probably with settings on the other browsers, but I have no idea where to look.

Ed

Core

all ball, no chain
Reaction score
I'd use an antimalware product to clean your system; just an antivirus isn't sufficient in this case.

Reaction score
Hi EdBerl - Welcome to w7forums

After you have removed all the malware and if IE8 still doesn't load a page, you might try restoring to default settings. However I don't see how that will fix the other browsers. Hopefully Core's suggestion will fix everything. Good luck virus hunting.

Another thought would be to do a system restore point. This should fix all the browsers and then you can run the cleaners to find the virus.

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score