Enabling Administrator Account By Standard Account


sap

Joined
Jun 27, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Can any one give me answer of how Enable Administrator Account By Standard Account,
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,343
Reaction score
1,586
You want to enable an Administrator account while logged in to a non-administrator account? The whole idea should be impossible! It would totally defeat the purpose of security if a person without administrator authorization could create an account which does have administrator rights.
 

Digerati

Post Quinquagenarian
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
277
Right! But not just for security - but to keep standard users from breaking the computer.

You can, however, log into an administrator account (with the proper credentials, of course) and change a Standard Account to an Administrator Account.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Some places I get into as administrator and other places say i need administrator privlages. what's going on? i am either an administrator of my computer or i'm not
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,343
Reaction score
1,586
Wildray, Officially you are not the administrator under W7; by default the administrator account is hidden and owned by the OS, you merely have an account with administrator privileges. The important places such a \Windows, \Program Files, & \Program Files (x86) are owned by the hidden administrator account.

This is designed to help keep you from accidentally messing up the system. It also adds one more layer of protection when the UAC makes you confirm "yes I authorize this program to change my system" prior to it actually happening.

You can set the UAC settings lower but you take away that extra level of protection.
 

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
You may be looking for this, sap

There are a couple of ways to obtain a "Global" account
:
Open a command prompt(Run as Administrator.
Type the following command and enter.
net user administrator /active
Log out and see if you have a new alternative login, as well as your existing one. If not, do it the long way.
Shut down the computer for a cold boot. Tap the "F8" key as you are booting.
Select "Safe Mode with networking" from the boot menu.
Log into windows 7 with your personal account that holds the administrator access.
Open a command window (START--->RUN--->CMD.exe). At the command prompt type the following net user administrator /active
Log out and log back in as administrator.

Another way
Go to Start
Type Control UserPasswords2. (or Open the Start menu, and type lusrmgr.msc )
Click Advanced.
Click Advanced again.
Select Users.
Select Administrator and untick the the box “Administrator is disabled”
Now log out and login as Administrator.
The action leaves you a little more vulnerable to outside attack. Not a big issue if you are confident with your anti virus control etc.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I've tried the "Another way".
It does not work.
Upon entering either of the commands illustrated above (line 2, after "Another way") , neither command is recognised.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top