Determine Whether 32 or 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by AlanHo, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. AlanHo

    AlanHo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Solihull, UK
    I installed Windows 7 Home Premium using the 64 bit installation disc on my computer which has an Intel Q9650 cpu and 8 Gb of DDR2 1066 RAM.

    However - opening Control Panel > System the information shows that I have
    8 GB RAM installed (3.25 usable)
    32 bit operating system

    How can that be - I definitely used the 64 bit Windows 7 installation disc (latest retail version).
     
    AlanHo, Nov 21, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. AlanHo

    davehc VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Denmark
    There are some unoffical versions available with both on the same DVD. In this case, you may have put in the wrong key.
    Otherwise, if you are using a genuine retail version, then,
    1. You used the wrong DVD or,
    2. The DVD's are incorrectly labelled.
     
    davehc, Nov 21, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. AlanHo

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    1,191
    If you look under Computer Properties which version does it say you are using?

    Control Panel >> System and Security >> System
    "Windows Logo + Pause" will also take you there.

    Look under System and then System Type
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 21, 2009
    #3
    gus likes this.
  4. AlanHo

    davehc VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Denmark
    I think that is where he looked and found the "32Bit" version?
     
    davehc, Nov 21, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. gus
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,480
  2. Jason
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,269
    Jason
    Jul 28, 2012
  3. junkaholic

    SOLVED Any tweak to determine which album arts display in waterfall?

    junkaholic, Sep 15, 2013, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    976
    junkaholic
    Sep 16, 2013
  4. GRD

    SOLVED xp to w7 64bit to 32 bit problem

    GRD, Jun 12, 2016, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    626
  5. wildchild1954

    Clean Install of Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit not working right

    wildchild1954, Jul 19, 2016, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    611
    john steadman
    Jul 26, 2016
  6. kayakguy

    Can I load windows 7 64 bit on this system?

    kayakguy, Aug 22, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    464
    John Finor
    Aug 23, 2016
  7. Idrees313
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    432
    TrainableMan
    Oct 26, 2016
  8. Brad Baten

    Windows Update doesnt work after a Clean Install od WIN 7 64 bit SP1

    Brad Baten, Nov 11, 2016, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    572
    Brad Baten
    Nov 14, 2016
Loading...