SOLVED Win7 lost all styling after BSOD & Start up repair

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by barryr, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    i have an intriguing issue which I hope some lateral thinker can help me with!

    On my aged laptop, have a partitioned HD - one side runs with XP and the other with Win 7. This was set up on my 4 year old laptop a couple of months ago by a retail/engineer shop following the burn-out of my old HD.

    The XP is original on the machine and the W7 was installed by the shop using an OEM key.

    Today, when closing down from XP, There was a short power outage. Next time I booted up in Win 7 I got a BSOD. Panicking somewhat and forgetting at that moment all about the power outage earlier, I ran the start up repair tool.

    Of course Win 7 opened, but not with the usual background behind my users photos. When I logged in and it fully opened, the slideshow theme I set up was still running OK but all of the display settings had reverted to what I would call a very basic classic Win 98 mode. Gone were the nice aero touches. See the photo of the taskbar here:


    [​IMG]

    The icons with descriptions are the open applications. needless to say there is no thumbnail view.



    the icons have all reverted to basic default and the windows have '98 style borders and top right buttons.



    Also my browser and e-mail client has reverted to a basic utilitarian look and windows such as notepad all have a gray border around them.

    Whatever I have tried has not re-enabled them. In troubleshooting it says 2 things, 1. that the chosen theme does not support Aero. This is daft because i chose and Aero theme. And, 2. That the desktop Window manager is disabled. When I check, it is actually enabled.

    I have done a windows update - no change

    I did a complete cold install of graphics card drivers using a removal tool and re installing in safe mode....no change

    I tried system restore and, although I created a restore point 3 weeks ago after ridding my machine of some malware. Windows says that it can find no restore point to restore to prior to the stat up repair.



    I really think its an OS problem...heres why:

    Everything else works fine. The Graphics card troubleshoot says its working without issue. The DirectX troubleshoot gives it a clean bill of health. It is displaying the theme desktop background photos OK and changing them according to the theme settings.When in XP everything works and displays without any issue. The system is more than man enough to run Aero graphics. I have checked that out. Besides, before this happened, it was running them just fine.

    Here is a report from the DirectX diagnostic tool:

    [​IMG]



    I have some other diagnostic reports too which I could attach if needed.

    I feel that something has been altered during the start up repair I foolishly ran.

    Please help!

    Barry
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. barryr

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Durham UK
    Have you used/Are you using a custom or third party theme? If so you'll need to patch the three system files again that enable you to do so.
     
    Elmer BeFuddled, Nov 10, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Yes. I had a theme running with a slideshow from My Pictures. This was still working after the graphics went strange..the photos scrolling as normal. I have tried using other themes inside windows since the problem started and they still rotate the slides correctly.

    So, based on your answer above, what should I do to patch those files please?
     
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #3
  4. barryr

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Durham UK
    I'm talking about Desktop Themes where you change the Start Menu to a custom shape, your opened Explorer Windows look nothing like the normal Aero Windows etc. etc.. Some Examples. If you'd applied a custom theme like one of those then you would know about it.
    It sounds to me as though you haven't and I'm barking up the wrong tree!!
    :eek:

    I can give you a link but it doesn't sound to me as if what I'm talking about is your problem.
     
    Elmer BeFuddled, Nov 10, 2010
    #4
  5. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Yes. I believe I did.

    Although I didnt download or install any I think that there were some put in by the engineer at installation as the start up screen (behind the user photos) was different and the background and start menu were not like a default windows one.

    maybe it is the right tree!
     
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #5
  6. barryr

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Durham UK
    There's a 32bit and a 64bit installer in the zip folder. Use whichever floats your boat.
    (I've found my Book of Idioms!)
    Deepxw's Theme Patcher.

    The best bit about this patcher is it can undo it if you change your mind.
     
    Elmer BeFuddled, Nov 10, 2010
    #6
    barryr likes this.
  7. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Ahhhhhh......If you didn't come from the North East I could kiss you!

    [​IMG]

    That worked like a charm. Thank you so much!

    The thumbnail preview is working again as well!!

    Any idea how to get rid of the text in open applications in the taskbar? once I have done that I am back to perfect again. :)
     
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #7
  8. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hang on....I figured how to do that in properties.

    Thanks again!
     
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #8
  9. barryr

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Durham UK
    No problem. Glad you got it sorted.
    I'm a Brummie really. Does that help!!?
    (Probably not, but me Mum loves me)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
    Elmer BeFuddled, Nov 10, 2010
    #9
  10. barryr

    barryr

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Well, I am a Brummie too...

    But I live in Greece so too far for tongues...thank goodness :)
     
    barryr, Nov 10, 2010
    #10
  11. barryr

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Durham UK
    PHeeeW!!!!

    Shouldn't your name be rbarry then? ;)
     
    Elmer BeFuddled, Nov 10, 2010
    #11
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Machipa

    Start Up Repair and Safe Mode not working

    Machipa, Aug 22, 2011, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,467
    TrainableMan
    Aug 22, 2011
  2. Bozobytes

    Win7(64)"Startup Repair"..Unable to start!

    Bozobytes, Jan 25, 2012, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    8,391
  3. Bozobytes

    Start up repair not functioning!

    Bozobytes, Sep 1, 2012, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,220
    m1r2hud
    Sep 5, 2012
  4. anna62

    SOLVED Lost start menu

    anna62, Sep 8, 2012, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,099
    Shintaro
    Sep 9, 2012
  5. DerbyBorn

    Windows 7 Start Up Repair message

    DerbyBorn, Feb 12, 2013, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    373
    G. Morgan
    Feb 16, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page