Virtual Machine

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by JanineS, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. JanineS

    JanineS

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I'm new to Windows 7 (64 bit). Is Virtual Machine part of the Windows 7 operating system?

    Thanks, Janine
    JanineS, Apr 29, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. JanineS

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,902
    If you have Windows Professional or greater OS. There is two freeware programs you can download from Microsoft. Home Premium will need to use other VM's

    The two programs are Virtual PC & XP Mode
    clifford_cooley, Apr 29, 2010
    #2
    JanineS likes this.
    1. Advertising

  3. JanineS

    JanineS

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Virutal Machine

    Thanks for the info. Clifford. So Virtual Machine is not actually part of the Windows 7 (64 bit) Operating System?

    Janine
    JanineS, Apr 29, 2010
    #3
  4. JanineS

    Fire cat Established Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hi JanineS!
    It kinda is part of Windows, but you have to install it. Wich version of windows do you have?
    As clifford_cooley said, it is only available in versions of Windows 7 from Professional to Ultimate, that is, to run XP mode. If you have one of those, you can download from the official Virtual PC page:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/
    Though, you can still run Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 on any windows machine, by downloading and running the installer from here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...02-3199-48A3-AFA2-2DC0B40A73B6&displaylang=en

    It's OK, you'll notice it's from the Microsoft Download section, so it isn't any kind of crack, or illegal downloading.

    Just go to the bottom of the page and download the 64bit installer.
    That will install Virtual PC 2007, but NOT XP mode, as that is only available in the versions Pro to Ultimate.

    Fire Cat
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
    Fire cat, Apr 29, 2010
    #4
  5. JanineS

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,902
    Thanks fire cat

    I realize now I misquoted abit.

    It is XP Mode not Virtual PC that doesn't work with Home Premium. I think I was relating them together when I made my first post. :)
    clifford_cooley, Apr 29, 2010
    #5
  6. JanineS

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    JanineS, welcome to the forum! There is a free program that will allow you to run the same XP Mode as mentioned above. It's called VM Lite. It will give you a pre-activated version of XP Pro SP3, and you can do this with any version of Windows 7, including Starter. Go to the forum interface (that long black bar with the forum choices), click "Search", make sure that "threads" are checked. Type "vm lite" in the box w/o the quote marks. About the 12th thread down, you'll see "XP Mode in Windows 7 w/o Hardware Virtualization" Read the instructions carefully. Download VM Lite first (registration required, it's free), then XP Mode (the second link), and any other of the tutorials you want. Install VM Lite, you will be required to click through several prompts. Then install XP Mode, you have a choice of how to do this. You can either point the installer to the XP Mode file in your download folder (the easy way), or you can burn XP Mode to disc to install. I mentioned Starter, because you don't have to burn a disc to accomplish this with. And by doing it this way, you don't need your own OS to install within the VM. You will need to install an anti-virus within it, and a program such a Malwarebytes (free), too. This is XP we're talking about, you need protection. Hopefully, I've pointed you in a decent direction. And before I forget, you'll need to fully update XP before using it. Should you have anymore concerns, or need help with anything else, large or small, feel free to post anytime. One last thing, with a 64 bit computer, you need at least 3GB RAM, with a 32 bit, 2GB RAM. Anything less, your OS & the VM won't run stable.
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
    catilley1092, Apr 30, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Al Dykes
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    2,166
    Don Morgan
    Jan 9, 2010
  2. Dave \Crash\ Dummy

    Installing systems in Virtual Machine

    Dave \Crash\ Dummy, Dec 15, 2009, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    767
    Dave \Crash\ Dummy
    Dec 15, 2009
  3. Ancient Lady

    Problem uninstalling Quicken XG 2004 from virtual machine

    Ancient Lady, Jun 2, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,981
    TrainableMan
    Jun 4, 2010
  4. Elmer BeFuddled

    SOLVED Best virtual machine software

    Elmer BeFuddled, Jun 13, 2010, in forum: Software
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    58,801
    Elmer BeFuddled
    Jun 13, 2010
  5. rfdjr1@optonline.net

    Virtual Machine question

    rfdjr1@optonline.net, Jul 21, 2012, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    745
    Gene Wirchenko
    Jul 24, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page