Low System Rating Score (Windows Experience Index)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gs1522, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Hi i am new to this site so are say sorry now ! i have just got my new PC together all going OK i have windows 7 pro with phenom II x4 965 my motherboard is foxconn a74ml-k but my index score on my CPU is ony 3.7 when it should be 6 ish any thoughts on this ? if someone here does have a phenom II x4 965 chip i would love to know your score just out of interest.
     
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    Hi gs1522 & welcome to Windows 7 Forums

    AMD phenom II and you got 3.7 i would have thought you would have got a better rate but there are a couple of members here and quite a few people i know that have good and up to high end hardware who have a lower rating then they expected, maybe you would like to run some benchmarks of your own This is a good place to start
     
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. gs1522

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    davehc, Jan 6, 2010
    #3
  4. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Thank you both for getting back to me i am new ish to all this i did run CPU pro it said that my CPU was running at MHz is this right as i know my CPU runs at 3.4Hz i know i could be reading this very wrong ?

    with the bios update the only one i could find is 961f1p01 and mine right now is 961f1p02.not sure what to do next.
     
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #4
  5. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    You can see your CPU MHz in your BIOS (just don't alter any settings if your not familiar with BIOS)
     
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #5
  6. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    my bios is saying 800mhz but just had a look on the net my cpu runs at 3.4ghz am i thinking something is not right or am i reading this wrong ?
     
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #6
  7. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    Your looking at MHz and GHz 3.4 is right for your CPU , would you say your Computer is running well ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #7
  8. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    It seems to be ok i thought it would run a bit quicker ! what is the 800mhz
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #8
  9. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    Is that quicker according to your WEI ? or as you use your system ?
     
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #9
  10. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    am sorry not sure what WEI means .
     
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #10
  11. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    Sorry WEI = Windows Experience Index
     
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #11
  12. gs1522

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    My AMD Athlon X2 (64 bit) runs better than anything that I've ever had, but I get a 2.9 performance rating because my graphics (Aero) is slow. This is hard to believe on a computer that's less than two months old. But I'm not going to spend a ton of money to improve it. But I found out through the Crucial scanner that I can upgrade to 4GB RAM, from the 2GB that's installed. That may improve my score, if not, my performance will improve anyway. They offer a 4GB kit for an identical computer that will work with mine for $110. That's what means more to me, performance, not a score that's based not on an average, but the lowest one. If while we were in school, our grades were based as such, we would never graduate. So don't let that score discourage you. I pay no mind to it.
     
    catilley1092, Jan 6, 2010
    #12
  13. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Sorry its me being thick i mean that my pc hangs a bit more then what i thought it would . just had a real good look at my bios in cmos utilitys my auto detect pci clock is disabled should it be on auto ? but yes it does say current clock speed is 800mhz.
     
    gs1522, Jan 6, 2010
    #13
  14. gs1522

    win7

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Hey GS1522,

    My AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core, slows from 2700 MHz to 1000 MHz and the voltage drops when the CPU demand is low for a few seconds. Then it returns to the higher frequency and voltage when higher performance is demanded. This may be the case with yours.

    If your go to this AMD site for your CPU and click on drivers, you can load the AMD Power Monitor Version 1.3.1.0016 for your CPU. It will give you a small display on your desktop that you can open when needed.

    http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/processors/phenom-ii/Pages/phenom-ii.aspx

    It will provide a real time display of your CPU load for each core and the Core Clock Frequency and Voltage.
     
    win7, Jan 6, 2010
    #14
  15. gs1522

    win7

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Your computer gets the lowest score from any category.

    My similar CPU gets a low 3.4 too, but look at the category that has a low rating, My is scored low only in Graphics and Gaming Graphics.

    Serious gamers do major number crunching for 3D rendering of graphics. They have extraordinary demands on their graphics cards. Heck, I'm running with the AMD 690G with ATI Radon X1250 graphics chip that came on my motherboard. No fan (noise) or anything and Win Aero looks fine to me.

    A hot graphics card will likely make a significant improvement in your score, but if you don't have demanding graphics you won't see any real performance improvement.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
    win7, Jan 6, 2010
    #15
  16. gs1522

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    Hi gs1522

    I don't know what power plan your on but if you can put it up to High Performance then have a look at your Clock Speed.
     
    Veedaz, Jan 6, 2010
    #16
  17. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    I just installed amd power meter on all cores it has 800mhz and frequency stays at 1600mhz thats the one at the top the voltage is 1.050 is this all normal . my power is on high .
     
    gs1522, Jan 7, 2010
    #17
  18. gs1522

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,908
    Hi gs1522

    What does CPU-Z 1.53 tell you about the processor?
     
    clifford_cooley, Jan 7, 2010
    #18
  19. gs1522

    gs1522

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    what info are you after just there is so mush info to type i have just spotted that my core speed does not move much from 800mhz it goes down a bit but not up. on my lap top it stays around 800 to 900 mhz but under load it goes up to 1800 mhz as it is a dual core 1800mhz but mine does not it should go up to 3.4 ish what do you think.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
    gs1522, Jan 7, 2010
    #19
  20. gs1522

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,908
    Can you post a screenshot of CPU-Z on the CPU tab?
     
    clifford_cooley, Jan 7, 2010
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Ian

    What is your Experience Index score?

    Ian, Jan 20, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    4,240
    Braxxis
    Jan 25, 2009
  2. Braxxis

    Windows 7 Index rating

    Braxxis, Jan 25, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,488
    reghakr
    Jan 28, 2009
  3. BetaMan

    Experience Index Rating in System Specs

    BetaMan, Jul 9, 2009, in forum: Announcements, Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,357
    Satchmo Bevins
    Jul 10, 2009
  4. TJK90
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,607
    TJK90
    May 15, 2010
  5. superkings_knightriders

    Windows Experience Index Score

    superkings_knightriders, Apr 19, 2012, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,916
    Digerati
    Apr 22, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page