Home Group

Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by mr.magoo, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    I recently bought an HP desktop and I've been trying to link it with this Toshiba laptop, Both have Win 7 and are up-to-date. The HP doesn't recognize the PC! I opened Devices and Printers and discovered a yellow warning ! for the laptop. Ran the troubleshooter that said I had missing drivers, but it couldn't find any. I discovered a couple of "unknown" devices under "Other" in the System array. I uninstalled them (there were two) with no effect. I checked my update settings and they're automatic. I looked for, IIRC, "hidden" updates and there were none.

    So, why won't my desktop recognize my laptop (it identifies it, but I can't access any files). :dontknow:
     
    mr.magoo, Nov 14, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. mr.magoo

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Are both computers joined to the Homegroup with the HG password?

    Have you allowed the files in question to be shared?

    Have you tried creating the normal type of MS home network?
     
    yodap, Nov 14, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    Yes to all, though I'm unsure what a "normal" MS home group is. It's two computers, both with Home Premium. I just want to be able to do my "work" when I'm at either.

    These damned computers are a regular PITA!
     
    mr.magoo, Nov 14, 2010
    #3
  4. mr.magoo

    bassfisher6522 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    NC
    In the network and sharing center; have you shared any files and folders? Have you turned on network discovery on both computers? Have you ran the homegroup trouble shooter? In network and sharing center click "choose homegroup and sharing options, then click change advance sharing settings. Scroll through all options and set accordingly but make sure you turn on network discovery.
     
    bassfisher6522, Nov 15, 2010
    #4
  5. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    I tried, but I have to put this one to bed.
     
    mr.magoo, Nov 15, 2010
    #5
  6. mr.magoo

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    It should not be neccessary to use the home group options to network the computers.
    I suggest you have another look in the Toshiba and make sure, again, that you have shared the particular things ( or the whole hard disk) needed.
     
    davehc, Nov 15, 2010
    #6
  7. mr.magoo

    ali_yas19

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    can i connect to xp pc with 7 pc ?
    and if i can how can i do this ?
     
    ali_yas19, Nov 24, 2010
    #7
  8. mr.magoo

    Fire cat Established Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Fire cat, Nov 24, 2010
    #8
  9. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    Let's try this again. My computers can't see each other. I followed the instructions in the link above and still had the same result. If I open the Home Group and try to open the other computer, it works (as in working), then nothing. If I open Network and try to access the other computer, I get the dialog window below. I can open the media files, but since I don't work with a lot of "media" that doesn't really help.I have a cable to a Belkin router, then out to my desktop. The laptop in the other room has wireless access.

    Network discovery is on, homegroup is shared read/write and everything is checked for sharing. What's the deal here?
     

    Attached Files:

    mr.magoo, Dec 14, 2010
    #9
  10. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    Tech help

    I'm thinkin' next month I might get a tech in the house to set these machines up. My friend bugged on me, so I'll need to get some outside assistance to sync these babies up.

    Y really thing I'm missing something basic on this Home Group thing, but damned if I can find it
     
    mr.magoo, Dec 14, 2010
    #10
  11. mr.magoo

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Hey Magoo, Happy Holidays to you.

    Tell me what exactly you want to accomplish. Tell me about your network.
     
    yodap, Dec 14, 2010
    #11
  12. mr.magoo

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Personally all the issues these people have w/ homegroups (plus since they don't exist on machines with older OSes), I don't know why anyone would use them. Just disable homegroups and use regular network file sharing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
    TrainableMan, Dec 14, 2010
    #12
  13. mr.magoo

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Okay . thanks for the update.

    Homegroups are for W7 machines only!!!

    You Must Use workgroup for networking W7 and any older Windows OS.

    Edit: There are those that will disagree with me but I'm trying to appease the masses here.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
    yodap, Dec 14, 2010
    #13
  14. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    Both my machines are Win 7 Home Premium, both 64-bit. Is there a picture or pictures that I might put up that you guys could figure out?
     
    mr.magoo, Dec 14, 2010
    #14
  15. mr.magoo

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,913
    Hi mr.magoo

    All I know is that you must create a Homegroup on one of the computers. Then from the second computer you connect to the Homegroup that was created. When the Homegoup is created there is a passkey given that will be needed for all other computers to connect with the Homegroup.
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 14, 2010
    #15
  16. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    I've done that.
     
    mr.magoo, Dec 14, 2010
    #16
  17. mr.magoo

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,913
    Would changing this setting help any?

    There is a setting to enable password protection on the PC. By default this option is enabled. With this option enabled only people with a Username and password are allowed access to the PC. This goes without saying even those without passwords are also blocked from accessing the PC.

    Control Panel >> All Control Panel Items >> Network and Sharing Center >> Advanced sharing settings

    [​IMG]
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 14, 2010
    #17
  18. mr.magoo

    mr.magoo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Prescott AZ
    I already set 'em up for no password protection. While checking on it, though, I figured I'd switch it from Windows settings to user's settings, but that didn't make a difference either.
     
    mr.magoo, Dec 14, 2010
    #18
  19. mr.magoo

    sdmnysimon

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    New York, USA
    other possibilities could be a firewall enabled
     
    sdmnysimon, Dec 14, 2010
    #19
  20. mr.magoo

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    PA, USA
    ... it was a bit confusing following both threads so I have merged them together ...
     
    TrainableMan, Dec 14, 2010
    #20
    clifford_cooley likes this.
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Al Dykes

    Is file and print sharing in W7/home like XP/home?

    Al Dykes, Dec 14, 2009, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    928
  2. VaineDragon

    Home Group Issues

    VaineDragon, Jan 5, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    918
    VaineDragon
    Jan 5, 2010
  3. jamesvaughn14

    home group

    jamesvaughn14, Sep 21, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,092
    jamesvaughn14
    Oct 9, 2010
  4. (PeteCresswell)

    Home Basic vs Home Premium vs Professional?

    (PeteCresswell), Jul 24, 2012, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    57
    Views:
    3,486
    (PeteCresswell)
    Jul 28, 2012
  5. Jason
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    834
    Jason
    Jul 28, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page