SOLVED 4GB RAM or 2GB Midrange Graphics card?

Reaction score
What will be better option for increasing overall performance. My usage includes 3d rendering, video editing and casual gaming. Thanks in advance

Reaction score
You are not looking at the main contributor. Memory without processing power will get you nowhere.

Reaction score
I am not building a pc. I am just trying to upgrade it to run latest software. My processor is Pentium Dual Core E5700 3.0 Ghz and has Video Ram of 768Mb . The system is 4yrs old. Also budget plays an important role since I am just a student.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
If you're doing lots of video editing and 3d rendering, then I'd go for memory over a new graphics card - especially if you're only doing casual gaming.

That said, if you can post your full specs (including how much ram and which video card you have), then we can help make a more informed decision :).

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. My specs
Motherboard: Asus P5G41T M LX3
CPU: Pentium Dual Core E5700 3.0 Ghz
Integrated Graphics: Intel G41 express chipset
Dedicated Video RAM : 64MB
RAM: Kingston 2GB valueram

Also Ram usage reaches 99% at startup. I have disabled all the unwanted startups. Only utorrent,Malwarebytes,kaspersky,ccleaner opens at startup It seems that svchost.exe uses about 765 MB of my ram.So please give me suggestions for my upgrade:)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Are you using the integrated graphics card or do you have a separate one (if so, which model)? The only reason I ask is that in post #3 you mention 768MB video RAM, rather than the 64MB dedicated video RAM.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
No problem, it's just good that we can provide the right help :).