UAC still anoying... can I add a program to a whitelist?


Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I turned UAC on again so my sidebar works without crashing and it is really annoying even on the lowest setting. I get 3 warnings evertime I turn on my computer from Rivatuner, RMclock, and Peerblock (actually does not start with windows anymore and when I start manually I get warning). Is there anyway I can put these into some kind of whitelist / trusted list so UAC does not bug me with programs I trust?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,482
Reaction score
632
Which sidebar is this, it seems odd that it crashes with UAC off?

I don't think there is a way to add applications to a UAC whitelist, otherwise this would open up a huge can of worms in terms of exploits.

You can start the application on boot using Task Scheduler instead which should allow you to bypass the UAC popup. For example, for RivaTuner:

- Start Task Scheduler
- Create basic task, give it a name
- Set trigger as When I log on
- Set Action as Start a program
- Point Program to Rivatuner.exe
- Set Add Arguments to: -T
- check "Open the Properties dialog for this task when I click Finish", click finish
- Select "Run with highest privileges", OK
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
It is Windows 7 x64 Ultimate RTM... What is the command to see what the version number is? I can't remember.

This is a common problem with UAC turned off:
http://www.overclock.net/software-news/439288-mdl-fix-gadgets-windows-7-beta.html

I just really don't want to put old Vista system files on my Windows 7 machine. So I decided to just turn UAC back on.

I will try this later today... I didn't know you could do that... Thanks!
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
I've heard of a free program called Tweak UAC that might help. It's a stand-alone .exe (no install) and according to the site you can easily run the UAC in a "quiet mode" while you do installs or whatever and then turn the notification back on after.

Link for it is here: http://www.tweak-uac.com/home/
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Thanks Ian, that worked perfectly!

I will check out that prog draceena.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Seems I am getting a side effect of starting them with Task Scheduler. When I logon by restarting my computer the applications I started with Task Scheduler are running and work but do not appear in the notification area. If I restart login then log out and back in again they appear. Any ideas on this strange one?

Edit: If I go into task manager and kill explorer.exe and restart it the icons appear... hmmm
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
61
Reaction score
6
Many different programs will behave differently if they are started "As a service".

Try changing the logon credentials to your user accounts' name & password in services.msc for the programs you want to run.

Usually running via system and/or administrative credentials on start-up as a service results in softwares disabling their system tray icon and interface/GUI.
 

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
I,m not familiar with the programs/services you mention, but I see from Ian's post that at least one (Rivatuner) runs from and exe. One other way which is available, is to search for the .exe's on those mentioned, if available. Right click and select properties - and then the compatibility tab. Down bottom left, click the square "Run as Administrator".
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
61
Reaction score
6
I was doing that yesterday or the day before just to double check UAC's policies since it was patched to fix an exploit.

It doesn't work. Even with "Run As Administrator" ticked, UAC still prompts you every time when it's on the highest restriction and second highest. Don't know about the others, since they're relatively useless and never bother testing them.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
UAC Trust Shortcut 1.0 is the BEST solution

I turned UAC on again so my sidebar works without crashing and it is really annoying even on the lowest setting. I get 3 warnings evertime I turn on my computer from Rivatuner, RMclock, and Peerblock (actually does not start with windows anymore and when I start manually I get warning). Is there anyway I can put these into some kind of whitelist / trusted list so UAC does not bug me with programs I trust?
UAC Trust Shortcut 1.0 is the BEST solution you can use for
you BASIC and simplefied UAC Whitelist, try it today, it is free,
and is offered and made by the ITknowledge24.com Community.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top