No Jumplists

Reaction score
Hello - Newbie here...

I have no jumplists on my machine. :(

I have tried looking on the Net for solutions and have tried all the obvious fixes, to no avail.

Any ideas anyone?

Reaction score
Hi Cheemag - Welcome to w7forums

Which programs do not have the jump list?

If you right click the taskbar and select properties >> Start Menu tab >> Customize, there should be an option at the bottom to select how many recent items are displayed in the jump list. Make sure this number is not set to "0".

Core

all ball, no chain
Reaction score
Interesting...Mine are gone too, and the # of jumplist itemsm Clifford mentioned is 0, and cannot be changed 'cause it's greyed out.

Reaction score
Have you guys disabled any services that maybe required for the jumplist to work?

I'm not absolutely certain but I'm thinking that the jumplist shows recent items that are stored by each application. If this is so then the application must also be setup to store a recent list.

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Reaction score
I found the following forum post when I had the same problem and this worked for me after trying the usual suspects. Don't ask me why it worked though!
I found the fix myself. It was in an earlier problem in this forum, when someone complained that their Office 2010 jump list entries had disappeared and would not come back. The solution which was recommended was to do this:
Method 2:
a. Open Windows Explorer.
b. Type or copy and paste the following into the address bar:
%AppData%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations
c. Identify files that are comparatively larger in size than the rest of the file, such as files that have file size of 1 MB or more. Delete the abnormal file.
or you may delete all files from here
d. The recent items functionality on Jump Lists will be restored. The recent items on the Jump Lists will be re-added as the program has been used.