New Monitor & Bing on Windows 7 x64

Reaction score
I recently switched from a old Dell regular lcd montor to a new Viewsonic wide screen lcd monitor. On the Dell montor the image on Bing's search page filled the whole page. Since switching to the new wide screen led lcd monitor the image doesn't fill the whole page anymore. Why is that ? My monitor settings are set correctly at 1920 x 1080 which is the recommended settings for it.

Attachments

Fire cat

Established Member
Reaction score
That's just the way the website was made. For the background image thing to work, they can't have it scaling. It would look good anyways ;)

I'm a web dev, and I can tell you, scalable websites:
1. Are a PITA to make.
2. Look aweful.
3. Scale badly :p

Last edited:
Reaction score
That's not the way it looked on old monitor

That's not the way it looked on my old Dell 4.3 15" LCD. The gray color wasn't there, only the Bing page picture that's changed daily was there before. That really makes no sense to me considering wide screen lcd's were available and widely used before Bing existed.
That's just the way the website was made. For the background image thing to work, they can't have it scaling. It would look good anyways ;)

I'm a web dev, and I can tell you, scalable websites:
1. Are a PITA to make.
2. Look aweful.
3. Scale badly :p

Reaction score
I agree with Fire Cat. I also do some web designing and the sizing issue is definitely on Bing's end, as my monitor resolution is less than yours (1366 x 768) and the Bing site has the same gray margins on both sides of the search image. I have seen other sites that do not display properly, so this isn't an isolated incident. It IS a reflection of mediocrity in site management.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Yeah probably MS had a Vista moment

Yeah, on my Dell 15" LCD at 1024 x 768 the image filled the whole page. Maybe the Bing team had a Vista moment on this one. Though, I did like Vista better than XP. More Secure definitely.