New member here, laptop hunting

Ken

Reaction score
Hello forum members!

I'm new here and am doing research for a new laptop purchase after W7 comes out. Some googling brought me here.

I'm on the lookout for a new laptop that will be able to do a bit of business and some pleasure as well: Windows 7, MS Office, Project, Visio, a few games (Wolfenstein, Team Fortress 2, etc), and able to attach to my TV via HDMI for movies and streaming video. I'm thinking that 2.2 GHz (or higher), 4GB RAM, 320 GB drive (or more), HDMI port, optical burner (Blueray would be nice but not required), 16" (or more) screen, Windows 7 (probably 64 bit), and discrete graphics would do the trick. HP seems to have some very capable machines and decent prices. I've not had great luck with Dell. Thinkpads are not very competitively priced, nor are Toshiba and Sony. And I have no experience with Gateway, MSI, Asus, or Acer. But everyone seems to have deals ready once Windows 7 is out.

Any recommendations, tips, hints, suggestions on hardware or places with good deals on Windows 7 machines is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Ken

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Hi Ken, welcome to W7 Forums :ciao:

Do you have a budget in mind for this machine? The games you mentioned are a few years old now and won't need a really high end mobile graphics card, but is it likely you'll be playing some newer games on the machine too? I'm not too clued up on the current high end mobile graphics chips, but I'm sure some other members are :)

Ken

Reaction score
Thanks, Ian.

I'm probably not going to try and run new high-end games on this laptop. Just a couple of games here and there are nice to be able to play when I'm on the road. It will primarily be used for browsing, email, office apps, and TV & movie viewing.