have a good laugh

Reaction score
hello everyone -anyone

I am a total beginner with Windows 7 - I am lost with the bibliothek and have never even used an explorer ... (I know things from windows 95 ... things were so easy in the old days) -

so the first thing you can have a laugh about is that my desktop has somehow landed in a folder called downloaded games --I tried deleting it but half my desktop vanished (since recovered from the trash) -- and windows had reinstalled a new desktop in my games folder ... (I have never downloaded or even played a game on this comp!)

also there is ANOTHER desktop let us call it number1 ... in the explorer's left window ... and this contains EVERYTHING (except an empty favourites folder) ... in this is a folder with the user - rob and here we have desktop2 and also downloaded games with also desktop2 and a folder ACER (the computer) and a folder "user" with another folder "rob" and naturally another desktop2 ...!

...I presume that I got something wrong -...

none of the desktop2 folders seem to be an alias - Im in the position of most confused people .. :I dont even know the right questions to ask ... I believe its a problem Im having withn the explorer rather than the new library feature ...

anyone feel like helping? -I will now log off and try and save my suffering brain

thanks- rob

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Hi 123rob! Welcome to the Windows 7 Forums website.

First thing I would do is to do a system restore back to the time prior you started having a problem with the desktop.

Did you buy the computer with Windows 7 already installed or did you install it yourself?

Could you give us some more information, please? Thanks!

Reaction score
so its hello Nibiru !

thanks for your quick reply ... now some 6 hrs later ....

a friend installed W7 for me - but now he is lost with the explorer as well -

I had been looking around for info: